Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-25-2011, 09:12 AM   #1

Newbie Help (again)

Hello Oh Wise and Knowledgeable Ones.

I am a newbie, sorta. We've been towing a TT up and down the east coast for the last 5 years with my Chevy Express 1500 Conversion Van. 3 years ago, we bought a 36' 5er (2009 Silverback 35L4QB that I LOVE) that has been acting as our summer home. We're thinking about maybe buying a truck to start pulling it on vacation.

Reading through this forum, I am realizing that there are a BUNCH of things that I don't know about pulling a 5th Wheel. So I have to learn all the important things about pulling a 5er so that I can buy the right truck.

Help! Does anyone have a good resource (like a "Towing 5th Wheels for Dummies," book or some such) that they'd recommend? I know the basics (according to the factory my 5er's GVWR is 15500, the hitch weight is 1825 and it's 34.58' long and 8' wide). But I don't know ANYTHING about pickup trucks. I'm thinking I'm going to need a diesel dually. I've got 3 kids, so crew cab is gonna be a must. I'd like to buy a used truck, 'cause it'll ONLY be used for pulling this trailer and the once or twice a year I need to haul something. But I know nothing of tire ratings, hitches, bed sizes, axle ratings, etc., etc., etc.

I like to think I'm a pretty smart guy and can learn pretty quickly, I just need the right people to point me to the right resources.

Help?

Thanks,
Al
alsylvia is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!