Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-28-2011, 11:23 PM   #1

Newbie here

OK, got the 5er, 2011 Coachmen Chaparral Lite 270 RKS, got the truck, 2005 GMC diesel short bed, need the hitch.

I've marked the bed where the pin will go (4" in front of the axle according to my local hitch shop) and put the truck directly under it at all kinds of angles to simulate a hook up and it looks like, with the deep scalloped design of the front cap on the coach, I don't need a slider to clear the cab but I'm not sure I trust my experiment !. Is there anyone out there with the same combination withe direct experience who can help ?????

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-29-2011, 03:45 AM   #2

I pulled a 22' Thor Tahoe 5th wheel with a 1999 F150 shortbed (6.5') with no problems....but, apples to oranges I suppose. The Tahoe didn't have the new shaved corners on the cap either.

Gman

Old 03-29-2011, 08:28 AM   #3