Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-04-2015, 11:17 AM   #1

Newbie here. Weight distributing hitch.

My trailer total dry weight is 5166 lbs and the trailer hitch weight is 626 lbs. My truck can tow 6800 lbs. Does it matter what distributing hitch I get ? For example the 800lbs or the 1000lbs one. I'm thinking the 1000 lbs one just in case I upgrade my trailer in a few years.

Thanks

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-04-2015, 11:50 AM   #2

My trailer was about the same as yours. The 800 will be the better choice. 1000 will be harder than heck to torque up. BTW, when you do go to use it.. hook up the trailer to the ball, then extend the trailer jack to lift the tongue AND the truck a few inches, then put the chains on. Much easier than trying to torque it from a lowered position.

Todd157k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 11:59 AM   #3