Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-08-2016, 09:40 PM   #1

NEWBIE International 4700 LP 5th Wheel Tractor...

Hi All,

I'm trying to get in the right forum, so as not to bore anyone here.

I'm a very experienced mechanic, and I rebuild wrecked/damaged vehicles from motorcycles to big rigs.

I just bought a lightly wrecked personal driver that I'm planning on towing a 5th wheel toy hauler with.

It's a 97 International 4700 Low Profile Single Axle Tractor 157k miles with a DT466 and a hot shot bed with an air ride 5th wheel plate on it. Lots of built-in jockey boxes, etc... The boxes and the sides of the bed are rough - bent sides, missing doors, bent and ugly bed (I'd show pics, but the upload wants a URL and doesn't store pics here apparently), so,

I WANT TO SWAP OUT THE BENT UP 5TH WHEEL HOT SHOT LOW PROFILE BED FOR ANOTHER GOOD USED ONE OR A NEW ONE. USED PREFERRED.

Any leads are sincerely appreciated.

2. I'm trying to find out what this tractor's TARE WEIGHT is. i. e. How much does the truck weigh, so I know what rating of trailer I could use to haul it home, etc...

I'm calling International tomorrow for a build sheet, and I predict they can help with the tare weight thing, but if any of you work/play with these tractors, I'd really enjoy chatting with you.

The truck has a DT 466, unknown horsepower and torque at this time, but it's a Class 5 Single Axle Tractor rated from 16,500 - 19,500 lbs. and can go to 26k here in Nevada without a CDL, and it has hydraulic brakes.