Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-17-2016, 09:14 AM   #1

NYS R Endoresment

Looking for some guidance here fellas.

I just purchased a 2013 Volvo VNL 730 to tow my rig with. I am a contractor and purchased the rig through my company but will only be using it for private use. I put Private Coach Not for Hire Decals on it. I even removed the commercial hitch and have ordered the ET Hitch.

When I purchased my truck in Nashville and had to drive home to Long Island, I brought a friend with me that possesses a CDL just in case. We blew by every weigh station, and had no issues.

I know I need this R endorsement. I have called and visited DMV and I can't seem to get a straight answer. Here it is.

My Volvo has a GVWR of 52,000lbs. Front axle 13,200 and both rears are 20,000. According to the requirements for the R endorsement any vehicle over 26,001 pounds being used for personal use I need to have that endorsement. Can I just take the road test in the Volvo without the trailer hooked up? this whole thing is based on weight, not length right?

Technically, my F350 and my trailer puts me over that 26,001 lb threshold anyway (14,000 GVWR truck and 20000 for the trailer) Do I just show up in that set up and take the road test, get the endorsement and go about my day?

Just looking for some guidance here.

Thanks!!

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!