Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-09-2012, 03:51 PM   #1

Payload limitation for RAM 2500 Diesel 4x4

I'm a newbie...confusion and contradictions abound when trying to determine how big a 5th wheel I can pull..within the published ratings. I'm working on the RAM Job Rating worksheet to try and sort this out. There is no problem with the towing capability....the problem arises in the "payload" (if I am calculating it correctly). I'm finding that the max payload of 9600lbs is restricting me to a GVWR of 8600 for the 5th wheel. The worksheet uses 25% of GVWR to determine king pin weight.

Does this seem correct...or am I doing something wrong. I'm sure I've seen larger rigs being pulled by 2500's....

Any help would be appreciated...Is there an "expert" website I could go to...

Thanks
Fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!