Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-18-2015, 07:29 AM   #1

Pull Winnebago Minnie with BMW X5d?

Newbie question.

I have been enjoying an RV (Sunseeker) for years but it's time to move on - too long in the tooth. Most of our trips are weekenders and I am looking for more of a TT for camping.

My sights are on a Winnebago Minnie 2451BHS.

My vehicle is a 2012 BMW X5d. I am new to towing and there are a lot of calculators out there / threads / etc. From what I can tell I should be able to tow this, but it's close.

I would love some thoughts from those more experienced than myself. What I know:
- Dry weight is 4880, BMW tow capacity is 6,000. I don't anticipate adding 1,000 pounds.
- In the UK the BMW is rated at 7,700 - seems to be more to do with the hitch
- Weight distribution is discouraged - I wonder if it would actually help?
- X5 seems to perform well for those who use it as a tow vehicle.

Two thoughts:
- The Tow limit and trailer weight seem close - maybe too close for comfort?
- The actual tow limit (vehicle capability) is 7,700 - so I should be fine.

Would love some thoughts on this - any links on where I can learn more so that I can help myself would be great too. And yes - I am reading the Stickies at the top.

Thanks!
vman4639 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!