Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-22-2015, 08:48 PM   #1

Outdoors RV Owners Club
Ram 1500 vs Ford F150 Towing Question

I'm a newbie to both towing and TT camping being newly retired
My TT will be a Creekside 20 FQ with a dry weight of 4,400 lbs and max of 6,200 lbs.

It's a very tough choice between the F150 and the Ram 1500, however for me the Ram wins on a number of points.

The tow rating for my configuration (Outdoorsman Trim, Crew Cab, 5.7L Hemi, 4x4, air suspension, 3.21 axle ratio) is 8,000 lbs according to the towing guide. The only axle ratio available on this trim is 3.21, even though the website lists a 3.92 option.

The F150 would pull 10,700 lbs (crew, 4x4, 3.5 ecoboost, max towing pkg, 3.55 axle ratio)

The Ram would seem to have a decent amount of headroom, please correct me if I am mistaken. I'll be running up the mountains throughout the West, btw. Most travel will be on my own or with the bride. Another factor is that it seems like most of us end up with more TT than what we start with

Thanks all.
guyofthewest is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!