Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-12-2010, 07:43 PM   #1

Short bed or Long bed for 5th wheel?

I'm a newbie to this site and this is my first post. At the current time we have a pop up and love it. Down the road in the next year or two, I would like to get a 5th wheel. I first need a truck to pull it. I imagine myself getting anywhere from a 30-35 foot 5th wheel

My question: I would like to get a short bed truck, but do I have to have a long bed to tow a 5th wheel? I know I want to get a diesel engine. Just looking for now at a dodge 2500 mega cab 4x4 (no dually).
To pull a 35' trailer, will I need to jump to a 3500 1ton.
In conclusion
What are your recommendations,
long bed/short bed
3/4 ton or 1 ton
Axel ratio 3.73 or 4.10
your recommended truck to pull a 35 footer

thanks
NorCalCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!