Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-22-2014, 10:01 PM   #1

Suspension Helper Springs

Newbie here. The search function was cranky on my tablet so sorry if this has been covered elesewhere.

Issue is porposing of TV and TT when hitting dips in the road. I'd like insight on ways to minimize as much as possible. I know there are many factors that contribute to this and may not be easily or able to correct.

Setup
F150 ecoboost with max tow and payload package. Truck has plenty of power and all weights are within legal rated limits although I am close on rear axle limit.

Outback 300rb. 30 ft 8800lbs loaded. Extremely heavy tongue weight especially with fresh water. 1250lbs - 1300lb tongue weight

WD = Equalizer 4 point with 1200lb bars

Upgraded heavy duty rancho rear shocks. Don't recall model numbers.

I like the set up and feel safe however I'm trying to eliminate the bouncing. Wondering if better shocks, helper springs or air bags would help. Other thoughts? Not looking to level truck but stiffen it up a bit under load and dampen.

Thanks

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!