Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-09-2016, 10:59 AM   #1

Tongue Weight

I've been calculating weight and balance for aircraft for 40 years but that always begins with known weights on each gear, an empty or Basic Operating Weight and CG, and looks for a loaded CG, not a new weight on each gear. I have a trailer and want to be able to establish a tongue weight for different loading through calculations, not re-weighing every time I change/re-position a load.

OK.....here we go. My trailer (stock by reputable manufacturer) weighs 1560 lbs empty with a tongue weight of 250 lbs. That's too much on the tongue, and the single axle is located quite rearward (Front of tongue is my reference datum line at 0", front jack wheel at 11", enclosure front at 29", axle at 146.25" and back of trailer/enclosure at 193.5").

I mounted a spare tire, and secured a jack inside the trailer in the front, bringing the Basic Operating tongue weight to 309 lbs. I can't put one motorcycle in it, as far aft as possible, without the bike's CG being forward of the axle (further increasing the tongue weight), let alone two bikes. I believe I need to move the axle forward and am trying to figure out how far.

I may be suffering from some cranial flatulence, but it seems to me there should be a way to calculate how moving the load fore or aft affects tongue weight.