Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-10-2014, 07:12 AM   #1

Totaled my rig

At noon on June 27, 2014 near Quinter, Kansas, on I-70. Semi was doing 45-50 in a 75. I wanted to do 55-60. As I went around him, an exceptionally strong wind hit me broadside. Started to fishtail; couldn't get out of it. The entire 50' rig did a 180 into the right shoulder, Silverado ended up on its top, travel trailer ended up on its side. Amazingly wife and I and both dogs are all OK.

I'm not a newbie, either. I have about 10,000 miles on this rig, including 50 mph winds across Wyoming. The state trooper told us two semis were literally blown on their sides the week before near the same spot.

I replaced the Silverado with a Mazda5. Our RVing days are over. I only post this because you guys have been very helpful in the past, and I just want to caution everyone to be really careful out there. Although, in this instance, I don't know how I could have been any more careful. Truck and TT were both less than 3 years old, had both been checked out thoroughly before we left, I was at least ten mph under the speed limit, it was a clear day. Sometimes, stuff just happens.
EZRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!