Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-17-2017, 07:48 AM   #1

Tow vehicle question

Good morning!

I have a question about towing a TT as I am new to the RV world. I have a 2007 Tahoe LTZ that has tow rating of 8200lbs. I have been looking at TT around 6500-6900lbs max. Majority of the ones I like are 32-35ft long. I'm concerned about that length behind my Tahoe even though once loaded I will be under the 8200lb tow rating. Do you all think a 32-35 ft TT behind my Tahoe is to long of a trailer?
natureman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-17-2017, 08:08 AM   #2

Grand Design Owners Club
Even assuming that you are not over vehicle carrying capacity I think you will be miserable by the time you reach your destination unless only camping locally. Towing at or near rating tends to be tense. Weight coupled with a unit +/-50% longer than tv is something I would definitely avoid