Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-19-2013, 03:24 PM   #1

Towing w/a Toyota 4Runner

I am a newbie to this forum and to towing large campers, but not to camping. I'd like input on my situation. Last year, I purchased a 2012 Forest River Grey Wolf 28' travel trailer to pull with my 2005 Toyota 4Runner Limited V8 w/tow package. The camper is ~5400 lbs dry and the truck is rated at 7000 lbs. Having never towed a large trailer (31' tongue to bumper) this weight scared me. But I have a load leveling-hitch and the truck and camper have been properly matched (everything tows level). I was QUITE surprised with how well my truck handled this load last year. We had the camper out 3 times with no problems--even on small hills. My dilemma? At some point, I want to take the camper to destinations beyond mountains and I think that would be pushing it. My truck now has 150K miles, even though it is very well maintained. I'm wondering whether I should be considering upgrading to a heavier vehicle, or just keep my Toyota in tip-top shape. Even if I bought another truck, I'm considering not buying new. I think there are plenty of decent used trucks out there that could handle the job. If you think i should switch, any suggestions? By the way, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Grey Wolf and have had minimal problems which were resolved by my dealer. Any thoughts?