Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-24-2013, 11:52 PM   #1

Trailer tongue weight concerns!!!!!

Hello All! My name is Ernie, and I'm fairly new to the travel trailer world.

I have a 2013 Chevrolet 2WD 1500 extended Cab pickup with the 5.3L engine, equipped with the heavy duty cooling package, and a 3.23 rear end ratio.
The maximum tow capacity of the Chevy is around 9,700lbs.

Our first travel trailer was a 2013 Keystone Bullet Premier 19fbpr, with an approx 400lb tongue weight, and a 4200lb curb weight. We have sold that trailer, and are looking into purchasing a new 2014 Bullet Premier 26rbpr. The trailer dry weight is 5,755lbs, but the tongue weight is a jaw dropping 835 pounds!!!

I cannot find any info on the maximum tongue weight for my TV. I know the truck can tow the weight of the trailer, but am very concerned about the extremely heavy tongue weight. I'm looking into a WDH, probably the Reese dual cam setup, but I'm not sure if that will be enough to distribute the tongue weight of this trailer???

I know one of the towing Guru's on the site will be able to give me an idea if I'm looking at the wrong trailer, considering my current tow vehicle. Upgrading to a 3/4 ton truck is not an option at this point, since I just purchased my current truck 3 months ago!!

Thanks in advance for any help I can get with this issue.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!