Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-22-2013, 09:34 PM   #1

TT/Tow Cap basic question

I am new to the world of RV'ing and more specifically, travel trailers. I was hoping to get advice on selecting a travel trailer that suits our needs. My wife and I are looking to get a travel trailer for our family of four. We plan on pulling it with a Toyota Highlander with tow kit (5000# max cap). The travel trailer specifications all give an unloaded trailer weight and a gross combination weight rating. I understand we do not want to buy a TT with a 4999# unloaded weight to tow with a truck rated to pull 5000#, but what is a good general rule of thumb for how low we should try and keep the unloaded trailer weight while selecting a TT? Should we shoot for 4k max, or 3k max, etc... We plan on using the TT for long weekends and maybe an occasional road trip (1-2 weeks long, 1 time a year).

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!