Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-03-2017, 07:47 AM   #1

TT vs 5th for 1st time RV, Mama & 2 kids

Hello everyone!

I am totally new to the RV world, but I have a grand plan and will really be needing some advice and help along the way and this is looking like a good place to find it. Thank you in advance for your thoughts & input.

MY BASIC QUESTIONS for TT vs 5th Wheel (around 30'):

1) Is hitching & unhitching significantly easier with a 5th compared to a TT (assuming that the TT will have sway & weight distribution bars - and I will be traveling often)?

2) Will towing be easier (less stressful) with a 5th than a TT?

3) Any downfalls to either as basically a solo traveler (kids are too young and short to be able to help guide the RV, will get a back-up camera to help)?

Want more information...

BACKGROUND INFO:

IN A NUTSHELL: I have an opportunity to take my kids (10 & 8) out of school for a year and travel with them around the country. It will mostly be the 3 of us, with my husband joining when he can on vacation. I've never owned, towed or camped in any type of RV, but I am not going to let that stop me.

RV SEARCH: Trying to decide between TT or 5th (both bunkhouse models).
Specifically I am looking at the Coachmen Freedom Express 257BHS (TT) or the Jayco Eagle HT 25.6BHS (5th).