Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-17-2018, 07:12 AM   #1

Using Air Bags

Hello everyone. I’m trading in my 36 ft 5er toy hauler for a heavy truck camper on Monday. Lance 1172. I will be towing my Jeep on a trailer as well.
Wet weight of the camper will be about 5k. Plus another 500 when the Jeep is back there.

I have a 2011 Ram 3500 DRW with a Cummins . I installed some Airlift 7500 lb bags recently. I have never used bags before. So couple questions.

Do I want to raise the back of the truck up to the level it normally is when empty? Or is a little squat desired? .

When I load the camper should I have a little air in them, a lot of air? Basically should I prefill the bags?

I wasn’t sure if this should be in Truck Camper or tow vehicle? Move if necessary thank you.
Nwatkins176 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-17-2018, 01:41 PM   #2

Quote: