Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-13-2016, 07:32 PM   #1

WD Hitch Recommendation

Hi all,

I am a newbie trying to figure out what sort of weight distribution hitch with sway control I should buy for my small Travel Trailer. I want the hitch to be as safe as possible.

I am confused on what is all the info I need to to calculate what size WD hitch I should buy.

Here is what I know:

Toe Vehicle:
2004 Dodge Dakota 2wd 3.7L 6 Cyl. with Tow Package
GVWR 5350lb
GAWR (front) 3100lb
GAWR (rear) 3160lb

Travel Trailer:
2003 Sun Valley Road Runner M130 (15' x 7'6")
GVWR 2500lb
GAWR 2000lb
GAW 2025lb
TW 190lb

I have actually weighed the travel trailer on a scale, but according to the Nada spec my trailer weighs 2025 lbs.

I cannot find the TW (tongue weight) on my trucks 2" hitch.

Would the system in the link below be good system or is it overkill or maybe not strong enough? Did I list enough data for calculating to size the distribution hitch? being a newbie I am insure of this.

https://www.etrailer.com/Weight-Dist...EQ37040ET.html

See attachments for a photos of my trailer & truck hitch.

Thanks,

Paul
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2160.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	380.3 KB
ID:	121382   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2246.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	331.8 KB
ID:	121383  

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!