Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-19-2016, 11:16 PM   #1

WD system setup...little ground clearance

When I purchased my 2015 Keystone Hideout the dealer setup the WD hitch and said I need a new shank to help level the trailer. I was a rookie to the towing world so I went with the story and figured they knew best. Now that I'm heading into my second year towing the trailer I'm starting to realize the WD bars are very low.

I have attached a picture showing the setup. The clearance from bar to ground is only about 3-4 inches. The trailer sits pretty level and the wheel well gap says about the same before and after hook up.Click image for larger version

Name:	23fc9c81-7fc1-4f3c-88b5-538300e1aac0.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	27.2 KB
ID:	133657

I'm wondering if there is anything I can do to increase the ground clearance of the bars without having to raise the axle on the trailer.

I have also noticed that the coupler frame is mounted underneath the main frame of the trailer. This gives it a lot lower profile and I do not see many other trailers like that.

Comments and Suggestions are welcome

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!