RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-20-2019, 03:00 PM   #1

Weighing My Setup

I will be taking my TT out in a couple of weeks and I finally am going to get true weights for setup. I've never used CAT scales before but I've done some research and here is my plan. Please let me know if this is going to give me what I think it will.

First, I loaded the CAT Scales App and will use that at the scales. Here is my planned weighs:

1. Truck & Trailer hitched (each on it's own scale)
2. Unhitch in place leaving trailer on one scale and truck on the other.
3. By taking the truck weight from 1 and subtracting the truck weight from 2, that should give me the tongue weight WITH WD.
4. Tongue scale I am purchasing will give me basic tongue weight without WD.

Now I will have all the weights I need to evaluate my setup....I think.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Brenwol1

Brenwol1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!