Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-22-2009, 10:18 AM   #1

What can I tow with my 2008 Ford Expedition

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie here. We are thinking of buying a travel trailer and getting into some longer trips out of the midwest to escape the cold winters. I have a 2008 Ford Expedition which, as equipped is supposed to be able to tow 9200 pounds. I have the heavy duty factory tow package. I do realize that I'd need to subtract the weight of passengers and anything stored in the vehicle from that 9200 pounds. We are thinking of something along the lines of a Rockwood 8315SS.
It has:
dry hitch weight: 864 lbs.
GVWR: 8,058 lbs
unloaded vehicle weight: 6107 lbs
cargo carrying capacity: 1900 lbs
exterior length: 33 ft

Actually I guess this would be probably two questions in one post.
1) Is this too much trailer for my Ford Expedition?
2) Would using a Hensley hitch help me at all or are they not what they are cracked up to be?
Any and all advice is welcome! Thank you.
lonegigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!