Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-27-2013, 01:11 PM   #1

Which vehicle?

Hi all.
I'm new to RVing and am buying my first tow vehicle.
Wife and I are buying a 2006 Cedar Creek 36RLTS and I realize I need a 1 ton dually to safely pull it. Plus, it will give me some room to grow in a few years if we so desire.

Now I'm trying to decide between the Dodge Ram 3500 and the Ford F350.

I've taken a short spin in the Ford and will do the Dodge this week. Don't know much about either truck yet... so I'm looking for any information on pros / cons with either.

Also, I've heard about Dave Smith in Kellogg ID and have sent in a request for quote on the truck to see about the cost savings possible. But buying there means a 2000 mile drive home... so the savings have to be pretty spectacular.

Does anyone know of a Ford dealer with a similar rep to Dave Smith? I've tried some basic internet searches, but haven't found the biggest / best in the US yet. I'm in Michigan.

I've read some positives on Ford's new 6.7 diesel. And the truck I drove was really great. Quiet, easy ride (surprised me for a 350) and really quick. I also like the fact that I can order the truck with the 25K hitch installed (does anyone know how it compares to the good aftermarket hitches?). Best of all, Ford is offering 0% financing on the vehicle right now.

For the Dodge, like I said, I haven't driven one yet, but the dealer I spoke with said that 2014 is a total makeover for the 3500 truck series. I guess it is similar to what was done with the 1500 in 2013.