Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Expandables, Hybrids, & Lightweights Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 04-13-2014, 09:22 AM   #1

I did a MAJOR goof!!

Being a new trailer owner and brand new to the camping community, I found out yesterday that the 30 amp shore power plug fit perfectly into my 220 volt receptacle! I heard a "pop" then instantly unplugged it. Ran inside and after the smoke cleared, literally, I then plugged into the 110 volt and began troubleshooting for damage. I noticed all the breakers were tripped but all the fuses looked ok. Outwardly there appeared to be no other damage but I am NOT an electrician. I reset the breakers and I have power to the fridge, microwave, and water pump but I have no interior lights. It just couldn't be as simple as blown light bulbs, could it? Please help. What did I break? I did learn a very valuable lesson so please, no chastising. Thanks. What does a new converter run? Is there something I can check before the electrician gets here?

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-13-2014, 10:40 AM   #2
Community Administrator

Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner