Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Toy Haulers Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2015, 07:56 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 134
Question 110/ 220 volt question

So, was puzzled today how my Keystone Cougar could have everything 110 vac powered if I have a true 220 vac box. Pulled the fuse box cover today and sure enough, it is a true 220 volt box. A little differently configured from a house box but has two separate legs just the same. Guess why I questioned it was I am now running a 7500 watt, 220 vac gen set and it is wired to the 220 receptacle. I just wanted to insure that it wasn't powering everything using just one leg of the 220. Seeing now that the box is wired for 220, am puzzled how the opposite leg is getting voltage. Does the "power converter" do this??? Anyone have a reason or thoughts concerning this? Thanks
__________________

__________________
SDCOToyhaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-03-2015, 07:58 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 134
Guess I should have read my post before I hit send. lol Both legs are getting power when I am plugged into the home 110 volt circuit. Is this the power converter???
__________________

__________________
SDCOToyhaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 08:14 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Knightab's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,171
A 50 amp coach has a 110 line to each side of the buss. All the breakers are 110 so you are just powering 110 stuff off each leg. If you were to replace a couple of the 110 breakers with a double pole you would get 220. The just always use 110 breakers so you can power more stuff as in air conditioners
__________________
2015 Thor ACE 29.3
https://rvhappenings.blogspot.com/
Ohio
2014 Honda CRV Toad
Knightab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 08:15 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Knightab's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDCOToyhaul View Post
Guess I should have read my post before I hit send. lol Both legs are getting power when I am plugged into the home 110 volt circuit. Is this the power converter???
No it is not the converter, if you are using the dogbone adapter it just connects both legs inside the plug to power both buss legs.

FYI a converter producers 12 v from 110. An inverter produces 120 from 12 volt. Not all units come with inverters.
__________________
2015 Thor ACE 29.3
https://rvhappenings.blogspot.com/
Ohio
2014 Honda CRV Toad
Knightab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2015, 08:52 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 134
Still puzzled. I have added another power cord to the 5'er. Purchased a oem 220 volt plug from the dealer. Ran 6 ga wire from 5'er receptacle (in rear) to the front of the unit through conduit. My gen set is carried in the truck bed. This cable is a true 220. Now, I connected a 110 volt source into 1 leg of the circuit in the front portion. This is just home power to keep fridge running between trips. Somehow, I now have voltage to both legs??? Would think it would only power the leg it's wired to???
__________________
SDCOToyhaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 04:18 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Knightab's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDCOToyhaul View Post
Still puzzled. I have added another power cord to the 5'er. Purchased a oem 220 volt plug from the dealer. Ran 6 ga wire from 5'er receptacle (in rear) to the front of the unit through conduit. My gen set is carried in the truck bed. This cable is a true 220. Now, I connected a 110 volt source into 1 leg of the circuit in the front portion. This is just home power to keep fridge running between trips. Somehow, I now have voltage to both legs??? Would think it would only power the leg it's wired to???
Is this a 30amp coach? If so that is why in a 30 amp both legs are common not separate. 50 amp coaches have separate busses, careful you don't send 220 into coach and burn appliances up
__________________
2015 Thor ACE 29.3
https://rvhappenings.blogspot.com/
Ohio
2014 Honda CRV Toad
Knightab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 06:06 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,821
You need to study house power.. most everything in your house (lamps, TVs. Radio, Electric blankets, Clocks, Computers, Cell phone chargers and so on and so forth..If you have an electric rang PARTS of it, Fridge, Freezer, Microwave,, If you have an elctric cloths dryer PARTS of it, the washer.

All run on 120 volts

The Electric Range heat elements,,, the Dryer HEAT element and a central air conditioner...Those are 240 volt.

But the power to the house is 240 divided (As cooks say) into two 120 volt legs.

Same exactly as your motor home.

As to "Is it all on one leg" Depnds on who wired it.. I have seen some screwed up power panels.. and I've not seen that many power panels.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 06:58 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Knightab's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
You need to study house power.. most everything in your house (lamps, TVs. Radio, Electric blankets, Clocks, Computers, Cell phone chargers and so on and so forth..If you have an electric rang PARTS of it, Fridge, Freezer, Microwave,, If you have an elctric cloths dryer PARTS of it, the washer.

All run on 120 volts

The Electric Range heat elements,,, the Dryer HEAT element and a central air conditioner...Those are 240 volt.

But the power to the house is 240 divided (As cooks say) into two 120 volt legs.

Same exactly as your motor home.

As to "Is it all on one leg" Depnds on who wired it.. I have seen some screwed up power panels.. and I've not seen that many power panels.
To clarify for him 240 is available in the coach should he put a double pole breaker in. Few motorhomes use 240 volts direct. What most 50 amp motorhomes have are (2) 30amp feeds one for each leg.
__________________
2015 Thor ACE 29.3
https://rvhappenings.blogspot.com/
Ohio
2014 Honda CRV Toad
Knightab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 07:05 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightab View Post
To clarify for him 240 is available in the coach should he put a double pole breaker in. Few motorhomes use 240 volts direct. What most 50 amp motorhomes have are (2) 30amp feeds one for each leg.

Correct, except the 50 amp motorhome service is two 50 amp feeds not 30 amp. A 50 amp coach has 100 amps available to the coach.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 07:15 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Knightab's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,171
If you have a 50 amp coach and only have 1 leg from your generator connected and you are not using a dogbone something is hooked up wrong.

Clarify when you say you bought a 220 volt plug from the dealer. Are you speaking of the RV dealer?
__________________
2015 Thor ACE 29.3
https://rvhappenings.blogspot.com/
Ohio
2014 Honda CRV Toad
Knightab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 07:48 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Knightab's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
Correct, except the 50 amp motorhome service is two 50 amp feeds not 30 amp. A 50 amp coach has 100 amps available to the coach.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
There is not a 100 amps available because the breaker limits it to 50 amp load. You are using 1 50 amp double pole in the box which is spit to 2 busses. Either leg pulling more than 50 amps singular or together will trip the breaker.
PS: you are right about it being 50 amps per line on the 30 amp circuit the breaker is the determining factor but the rv is still limited to using only 50 amp period being limited by the breaker there also.
__________________
2015 Thor ACE 29.3
https://rvhappenings.blogspot.com/
Ohio
2014 Honda CRV Toad
Knightab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 08:22 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 134
Yes, I know house power. Only dryer, range, etc. actually use 220 volts. Still, you have two 120 volt legs. This 5'er is a 50 amp service though nothing in it uses 220 volts. If you were to drop a leg in a home, nothing 220 would work and only 1/2 of 120 volt appliances or outlets would be active. Will look again today. Got to be a really simple answer. Maybe if I just find my mind. lol Just too many projects at once.
__________________
SDCOToyhaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 04:17 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightab View Post
To clarify for him 240 is available in the coach should he put a double pole breaker in. Few motorhomes use 240 volts direct. What most 50 amp motorhomes have are (2) 30amp feeds one for each leg.
WRONG.. They have a 50 amp 120/240 volt feed Same exactly as a house would have save most Sticks and Bricks have 100, 150 or 200 amp feeds.. It is IDENTICAL to house power.

It is not two 30 amp feeds, it is two fifties..

It is not 100 amps at 120 volts it is 50 amps at 240 volts divided. (Works out the same as 100 at 120 but it's not).

And there are very good reasons for doing it that way.. Which I have typed out several times (has to do with wire size and voltage loss you need less copper, and you loose less voltage).

The reason I am so insistent on this is that failure to get it right can cause damage, up to and including a fire which can completely destroy an RV.

I apologize if I sound harsh but one group of folks I hope NEVER to do business with.... The Fire Department.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 11:06 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 134
Well, as I said earlier, the memory ain't what it used to be. lol I had forgotten that I had installed a jumper lead across the 30a 220v terminals on the genset plug so as to be able to power all the outlets with one 120 volt circuit.. Did that so that I would have voltage to the garage area to be able to use the ramp lift hoist I installed. Yes, as to having two 110 volt legs to the box. The way the legs are laid out, it still only has 110 volt capability. The legs run horizontal and are split in the center so as to have the two 120 volt legs only. There is nothing in the unit that uses 220 volts. Thanks again for all your ideas and input.
__________________

__________________
SDCOToyhaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid Electrical Question for the Month BPoland Newmar Owner's Forum 18 01-01-2015 08:00 PM
Hydro Hot Question malsbeaver Monaco Owner's Forum 3 12-26-2014 09:07 PM
12 volt to 6 volt question. h2oviller RV Systems & Appliances 11 03-30-2014 01:37 PM
Water Heater Question?? ArmyEOD Monaco Owner's Forum 11 01-24-2014 06:52 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.