Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Toy Haulers Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-28-2009, 08:59 AM   #1

Buying 39' Keystone Raptor

WOW, what a great Forum. I am about to join the 5th wheel club I guess. I have a couple questions if you all can help as I am a newbie. I am about to purchase a 09 Raptor but am a little hesitant, Quality, Weight, ride, are among some questions I have. Does anyone else make a similar Toy Hauler with torsion axles? I need at least a 14 ft. cargo area and as much living quarters as possible. Are the leaf sprung axles better or something? I know with car trailers they all went away from leafs many years ago due to breakage. The other question is I am towing with a GMC 2500HD crew cab long bed single rear wheels Duramax W/ Allison 6 speed. I have been reading the forum and I think I am within the weights but has anyone really towed something this size with a 2500 HD. I think I have plenty of power to pull but maybe not enough truck for the weight. Truck GVWR 9200, GAWR frt 4800, GAWR rear 6084, Curb Wt. 6141. Trailer empty Hitch wt. 3060, Dry wt. 12825, cargo wt 3675, GTW 18000. I believe my Trucks GCVW is 22000. If I dont have enough truck can I add a leaf or air bags or anything else to help, or do I just flat out need more truck to do this? Thanks for any help.
LOTSOHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!