Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Toy Haulers Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 06:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
56Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 978
I mounted my flag pole holder at the rear of my toyhauler and needed a 12v power
plug for Buford's pole lights at the rig.

I wanted a clean install and here are the photos showing how I ran my wires to the
rear of the rig. I picked up the accessory outlet at Radio Shack.

Now the grandkids will have an unlimited power
source for their computers in the loft.



__________________

__________________
2012 Itasca 30' flat towing a 2013 Jeep Wrangler
56Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-27-2005, 06:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
56Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 978
I mounted my flag pole holder at the rear of my toyhauler and needed a 12v power
plug for Buford's pole lights at the rig.

I wanted a clean install and here are the photos showing how I ran my wires to the
rear of the rig. I picked up the accessory outlet at Radio Shack.

Now the grandkids will have an unlimited power
source for their computers in the loft.



__________________

__________________
2012 Itasca 30' flat towing a 2013 Jeep Wrangler
56Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 06:55 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
WWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 3,479
Howie:

I've been wondering just where to get the power...where did you get it? Do you have the ramp door lights- is that where you got the 12v? I haven't been able to figure out a very clean wirepath to run anything- I've been using my little Husky Compressor/Inverter/Battery Jumper unit to power my buford lights (and boy...they don't take much power at all- I've run them off that unit for days on end).

Another pic?

Sean
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/508/sigfile1.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfan/sets/
WWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 07:12 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
56Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 978
Sean,

I just tapped into the rear overhead light
and hid the wires under the curtain track and
then inside an alumium channel along the
upper rear right side (follow the red line in
the photo)

I thought about grabbing power from the rear
ramp exterior lights.... but choose to do it
this way.

Now I have OFF/ON control at the switch by the
door for this outlet
__________________
2012 Itasca 30' flat towing a 2013 Jeep Wrangler
56Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 07:36 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
WWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 3,479
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by 56Nomad:
Sean,

I just tapped into the rear overhead light
and hid the wires under the curtain track and
then inside an alumium channel along the
upper rear right side (follow the red line in
the photo)

I thought about grabbing power from the rear
ramp exterior lights.... but choose to do it
this way.

Now I have OFF/ON control at the switch by the
door for this outlet </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

The only problem that I particularly would have with that is the interior lights would have to be on in order for the buford light to be on, and anyone inside the coach that may be sleeping would have lightage- which brings me to a darn problematic issue I have with my DW...she turns off the 12v lights at the light, and then when you want to turn on a light with the switch at the door, you've got to go thru the coach to turn everything back on! Obviously, she now has a hard time with the ceiling lights, but she does it with the reading lights in the bedroom! I go to flip the switch, and Nuttin' Honey! That really 'rings my bell'- I wish they didn't put switches at the fixtures- defeats the purpose of the main switch. Alright, alright, alright....rant off.

There's got to be a 12v line somewhere in the back of the rig that we can tap into- hey! You've got one of the high-flutin' juice finders, doncha?
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/508/sigfile1.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfan/sets/
WWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 07:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
56Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 978
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by WWFan:
The only problem that I particularly would have with that is the interior lights would have to be on in order for the buford light to be on, and anyone inside the coach that may be sleeping would have lightage- </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

No... manually turn the interior rear light off and Buford's lights remain on, until you
flip the OFF/ON down switch at the doorway.
__________________
2012 Itasca 30' flat towing a 2013 Jeep Wrangler
56Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 08:05 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
WWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 3,479
Oh...so you found an unswitchable 12v source? Beechone!! Thanks for the tip- I'll try it soon! (Now...how to get a good line to both sides for each of the buford lights).

Thanks Howie!
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/508/sigfile1.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfan/sets/
WWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 07:26 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
FatDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NV
Posts: 2,010
Send a message via MSN to FatDog
Howie
you do some VERY clean work. that was a good idea.


Sean, i saw a fingerprint activated gunsafe. Maybe you need to get those kind of switches so Moski can't disrupt the orderly flow of things. (I will deny ever typing that if she ever confronts me .)
http://www.smartaccesssystems.com/electronic-door-lock-...ils.php?theProduct=1
I have a little locking guncase for when i take a handgun to the local range. It has a 5 button push button 'key' to open it, that you have to push the buttons in a particular order that you can set. But i forgot the order that i had programmed it with and had to force it open with a huge screwdriver, and then once it was opened I was able to recode the number. And if you don't think that looks suspicious to a cop, getting pulled over for a taillight on the truck thats out,and the cop seeing a gunsafe that looks like it was jimmied open and then rebent back into shape ...
thats when i realized that i am apparantly not smart enough to own something that requires you to memorize a 5 push-button code. So i found a small safe that is thumbprint activated. (didn't get it though) And yes i do sometimes feel feeble minded writing this stuff. But since we have tech giants here with all the ideas that come out here, maybe we could all get thumb print recognition devices?
__________________
F350 PSD 4x4 SRW, BanksBrake, FOX res shocks, MagHytec, DP tuner, JohnWood tranny;
ChrisCraft Launch VP8.1 ;
3 hound dogs
FatDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 08:11 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
C.CARNEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Palmdale, CA USA
Posts: 640
I did the same thing to my old Nomad a few years back. My son wanted power for his hand held games aso I found a 12V constant and installed a lighter plug on the edge of the bed so It would float up and down with it. One thing you might want to consider is placing a small inverter by the plug so the kids can have 110V power also. My mod was crude looking to Howies nice setup though.

Nice job!!!

Clark
__________________
2005 Alfa See Ya 313 5er

2005 F350 PSD CC DRW Tow Boss
C.CARNEY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 05:07 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Hoverbug's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Klamath Falls, Oregon (The right side of the Cascades and home of Crater Lake)
Posts: 854
Very nice work Howie. My old '72 Kencraft had 3 12v power supplies factoy installed in the trailer. Would'nt it be nice if that was still done? I did run an additional 12v supply to the outside patio area from the fridge compartment. I put a male connector on the powercord of some old computer speakers, then attached a portable CD. Have now found that the XM works that way also. Again, nice install Howie. You are the Master Moder!
__________________
Klamath Falls, Oregon:The Right Side Of The Cascades!
1990 Rexhall Airex 29I,Ford 460cid,Gear Vendor,Granning Tag Axel
'87 GMC Suburban 2500 W/454 CID
Hoverbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 06:34 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
WWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 3,479
Hi Dave!!!

Howie:

Guess what I have in the back of my SLC...a electric double queen bed- the motor(s) are mounted on the back wall!! There's my 12v "always on" source!! Just gotta figure how to tap into it!
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/508/sigfile1.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfan/sets/
WWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 06:43 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
56Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 978
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by WWFan:
Hi Dave!!!

Howie:

Guess what I have in the back of my SLC...a electric double queen bed- the motor(s) are mounted on the back wall!! There's my 12v "always on" source!! Just gotta figure how to tap into it! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Sean...... what a find!

But drill your access holes VERY carefully
__________________
2012 Itasca 30' flat towing a 2013 Jeep Wrangler
56Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 06:47 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
WWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 3,479
Si Senoir! I'll post pics when I get it done! Thanks for spurring the idea!

Sean
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/508/sigfile1.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfan/sets/
WWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 08:03 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
high desert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Verdi, Nevada
Posts: 603
Great ideas.....I was going to get the ladder mount from Poles and Holders, but I don't like the looks of pole on the angled ladder.

Is this the holder you're using 56?


Wes
__________________

__________________
2006 Silverado 3500 CC DRW 4x4 LT3 D/A
2009 Fuzion 393 Touring Edition
TrailerSaver TS3 - BrakeSmart
high desert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electronic Photo Frame (12volt) BobCaesar Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 1 09-24-2008 03:16 PM
ramp cables Kablewizard Toy Haulers Discussion 2 06-13-2006 01:03 PM
Ramp Room RidgeTop Toy Haulers Discussion 3 11-19-2005 06:18 PM
grease on 12volt connections RKL2 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 07-28-2005 02:30 PM
'96 Aventurer 30' = No 12volt power Ol'Joe Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 07-12-2005 04:55 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.