Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Toy Haulers Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2005, 08:03 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
diirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 349
Hey all,
I'm hoping to install the satellite dish soon, which I'll be centering on the roof of the trailer. I'll have to run some cable across the roof prior to penetration. So, any recomendation on how to attach the cable to the roof, and recomendations on sealer for the penetration point?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Diirkhttp://smiley.onegreatguy.net/yay2.gif

2007 Rally site
diirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-04-2005, 08:03 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
diirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 349
Hey all,
I'm hoping to install the satellite dish soon, which I'll be centering on the roof of the trailer. I'll have to run some cable across the roof prior to penetration. So, any recomendation on how to attach the cable to the roof, and recomendations on sealer for the penetration point?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Diirkhttp://smiley.onegreatguy.net/yay2.gif

2007 Rally site
diirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 10:04 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
WWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 3,479
Eric:

When I put mine up, I just put the penetration point about 3" from where it comes out of the dome into the coach. I'm assuming you'll be running to the side just above the TV spot? If so, you might try the railing they use for rope lighting that has sticky back to get the cable across the roof, and then use the KoolSeal (can get it @ Home Debit, but make sure you get the putty instead of the coating).

You should be all set...very easy!

Sean
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/508/sigfile1.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfan/sets/
WWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 07:47 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
diirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 349
Well, I got the dome mounted on Sunday. No real issues there. I ran the cables about 8' across the roof of the trailer to the penetration point that drops the cables right into the cabinet where the TV sits. I'm going to attach the cables to the roof using Wiremold and place a Winegard Cable Entry Plate over the hole for added weather protection. I still haven't done the inside wiring, but I'll be duplicating Wes's setup for maximum flexability.
__________________
Diirkhttp://smiley.onegreatguy.net/yay2.gif

2007 Rally site
diirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 10:12 AM   #5
Member
 
Jamman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
All this talk about penetration has me wondering... (get your mind out of the gutter) how did you go about it? Were you able to determine the location of any wiring in the roof before hand? I would have to throw back a couple of shots of Yeager before I worked up the guts to "penetrate" the roof...

Oh, and I'll be parking next to you from here on out. I have a 50 foot length of cable that should work..
__________________
Jay

Jamman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2005, 12:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
diirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 349
Yeah, I hesitated to use penetrate to describe the action, but it was the best choice, and my personal preference.

Anyhow, from inside the cabinet I used a 1" holesaw to cut into the ceiling, very carefully. There were wires above but as I said, carefully. I then pushed them out of the way and used a 1/2" (5/8" was recommended) bit to drill through the roof. Then I pushed the wires through from the top and pulled them through the ceiling with some needle nose pliers. I then filled the hole in with a large amount of roof sealant. I will add on the cable entry plate when it comes in.
__________________
Diirkhttp://smiley.onegreatguy.net/yay2.gif

2007 Rally site
diirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 07:14 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
WWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 3,479
Eric:

Good job!! Sounds like you've done just about the best that you can do! Good find on that Winegard plate!

I see all this talk about penetration is getting 'ol Jay hot & bothered....let's just hope we don't find him taking care of himself on your hitch at Rasor! We don't need anymore "Film @ 11"!!!

Sean
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/508/sigfile1.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfan/sets/
WWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 09:20 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
diirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 349
My truck should be safe, it is a Dodge after all. Jay wouldn't step off on his Ford like that. Now your truck on the other hand......
__________________
Diirkhttp://smiley.onegreatguy.net/yay2.gif

2007 Rally site
diirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 05:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
WWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 3,479
Yikes! Hummmm...guess I'm just gonna have to get that chastity belt for it...

So you done with the project? Pix? 'Film @ 10'?
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/508/sigfile1.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfan/sets/
WWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 08:30 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
diirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 349
Well, got the dome wired up and operational. I'm using Dish Network. Anyone have issues switching between 110 & 119? I looks like I have to go through the setup every time I change SAT's. True? Fortunately, most of the channels we watch are on 119.
I still have to wire in the A/V switch. I just made the power cable, so I'll try it out this week. While ripping apart the wiring, I also hardwired in a 400x inverter. It's a temp fix to allow us to run the Sat receiver without the generator.
__________________
Diirkhttp://smiley.onegreatguy.net/yay2.gif

2007 Rally site
diirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 06:38 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
WWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 3,479
Eric:

I helped my best friend install his dish on his coach about a year ago and he has Dish...I walked away so frustrated with trying to change channels and satellites, I cudda spit. Fortunately, the 9630 can memorize two locations, but you'll need to load them up front and with the touch of a couple of buttons, switch satellites. Either that, or move to DirecTV- but don't try to go HD AND TIVO with them just yet!

Sean
__________________

__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/508/sigfile1.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfan/sets/
WWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
King dome and DVR rvtips Monaco Owner's Forum 15 08-28-2008 04:14 AM
Direct TV and HD for King Dome ? Roscat Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 22 02-21-2008 08:23 PM
King Dome Trac King tuner/SW upgrade in Alpine Jim&MaryJo Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 1 10-29-2007 06:09 AM
King Dome Problem??? smlranger Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 08-29-2005 05:14 PM
Wax for King Dome MH-General Discussions & Problems 14 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.