Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Toy Haulers Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2005, 07:21 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
high desert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Verdi, Nevada
Posts: 603
Nope....I don't see anything like that. My 12 volt fuse block is on the door side of the coach (the compartment I installed the vac in)the converter isn't there. The shore power compartment has nothing but the shore power cord and the plug for the gen. It isn't in the circuit breaker panel under the stove either. The inverter is in the basement and the converter isn't in there. Hmmmm
__________________

__________________
2006 Silverado 3500 CC DRW 4x4 LT3 D/A
2009 Fuzion 393 Touring Edition
TrailerSaver TS3 - BrakeSmart
high desert is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-16-2005, 07:30 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Grizwald2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Murrieta, Ca
Posts: 784
Don't understand why WW has to bastaardize this from coach to coach. Seems no matter what floorplan you buy they should have somewhat standard practices for all the wireing and breaker box labeling. Good luck Wes its got to be there somewhere!

Griz
__________________

__________________
05 2500 HD CC D/A 4WD

06 LE 3505
Grizwald2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 08:18 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
WWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 3,479
Alright...settle down guys!! I sense some frustration here, and wholly, but narrily (I say Unto You ), we can figure this out. Griz- There's no reason why WW should 'do 'em all the same' because they AREN'T all the same! Don't just know right off the top of the bat...but "trust me", OK? There's GOT to be reason!!

Now...first...Griz...your CONverter is not on the same circuit, so you're poopin' in tall cotton from what I can see (and believe me, your camera needs to learn about focus! ).. Second...you keep calling Wes- "Tom"..., and unless I'm not privy to something, start calling him "Wes"!! Third...Wes- check to see of which circuit turns OFF the fan on your CONverter and while you're at it, turn on your TV's and see if they go off at the same time as the fan on your converter. The one thing I've seen here is that WW uses the same CONverter, and it'd got an internal fan that is varible to the load, so if everything shuts off at the same time, you're on the same circuit with everything.

Whew...now after having to learn the B-Day gift that we just got our son, his iPod Nano, and going through that routine of loading software and music without looking at the manual, can I take a break until tomorrow? He's got water polo tourney tomorrow after the game(s), and we're hittin' the Sand Sport Show tomorrow to meet everyone...Griz...you need a break...show up in Pavillion 20, booth 6311 @ 2pm, and the next thing we'll do is find the 'pub', OK?

Sean
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/508/sigfile1.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfan/sets/
WWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 08:27 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Grizwald2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Murrieta, Ca
Posts: 784
Gotcha Sean, and Tom..I mean Wes Oh one more thing. Sean My pictures are fine on my computor I see all the living color. But when IRV2 shrinks them it aint so pretty anymore. Hey at lest I tried.

Griz
__________________
05 2500 HD CC D/A 4WD

06 LE 3505
Grizwald2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 08:37 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Grizwald2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Murrieta, Ca
Posts: 784
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">The inverter is in the basement and the converter isn't in there. Hmmmm </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Wes, just had a thought. Did you get the Inverter option from WW? If so you have the duel function unit...Converter/Inverter in one box?

Don
__________________
05 2500 HD CC D/A 4WD

06 LE 3505
Grizwald2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 08:40 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
WWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 3,479
Grizzy Baby!

Yeah...the trick is to start out with a gnat's a$$ pic and then shrink it using any software and your computer to get it below 250k, then it'll post fine. Dang...I saw a trick somewhere..either here or somewhere else, where you could download a XPToys utility (if you're running XP) that could resize your pics and get 'em down to the size that's uploadable...I'll see if I can remember where I found it and post here for everyone...

And Tom...err...I mean Wes (see...Donno's got me doin' it now!!!)...we'll get this straightened out here shortly...you can bet your bottom dollar!.

Love you guys!
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/508/sigfile1.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfan/sets/
WWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 09:15 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
high desert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Verdi, Nevada
Posts: 603
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Grizwald2:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">The inverter is in the basement and the converter isn't in there. Hmmmm </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Wes, just had a thought. Did you get the Inverter option from WW? If so you have the duel function unit...Converter/Inverter in one box?

Don </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah...I got the Xantrex freedom 458 inverter/charger. The manual doesn't mention converter anywhere....and...in my pack of literature I got with the trailer, I have the manual for an IOTA DLS series power converter.

Tom (wes)
__________________
2006 Silverado 3500 CC DRW 4x4 LT3 D/A
2009 Fuzion 393 Touring Edition
TrailerSaver TS3 - BrakeSmart
high desert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 09:20 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Grizwald2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Murrieta, Ca
Posts: 784
Well that's it Wes, problem solved. You have the duel unit. They just throw in all the manuals when they build these things. I have manuals for things I don't have also.

Think of it this way. A Converter is a charger...Hence Inverter/Charger

Don
__________________
05 2500 HD CC D/A 4WD

06 LE 3505
Grizwald2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2005, 09:43 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
high desert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Verdi, Nevada
Posts: 603
Don,

Ok...I can buy that. The thing that confused me was the manual from IOTA. The only mention of a converter in the Xantrex manual is in the installation instructions it reads:

"If installing in a system which includes an existing battery charger or AC to DC converter, make sure these do not operate from the inverter output AC power. This sets up a power loop which, due to inefficiencies, will quickly drain the batteries".

Wes
__________________
2006 Silverado 3500 CC DRW 4x4 LT3 D/A
2009 Fuzion 393 Touring Edition
TrailerSaver TS3 - BrakeSmart
high desert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2005, 06:36 AM   #38
Junior Member
 
Aaron H's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 29
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Grizwald2:
OK, This is how my breaker panel is laid out and how I did my Inverter mod.

My T.V circuit is on its own 20 amp circuit. Not all Weekend Warriors are wired the same so you will have to verify your particular setup.


</div></BLOCKQUOTE>
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by 56Nomad:

</div></BLOCKQUOTE>
My trailer is in the shop, so I am going off memory...

My panel looks just like Gizwald2's; it has the TV's on a separate circuit, and the panel states that the converter is on the circuit with the GFI, Refer, Galley, & Lavy...however, they wired mine like 56Nomad's panel (hard to read, but trust me, the converter is on the same circuit as the TV's).

I am guessing that they have 'fixed' this issue already, and they did the wiring correct on Gizwald2's TH, but wired my converter the old way (old habits die hard).

No biggy, I'll hardwire the outlet for the converter to a separate breaker and all will be well.

Thanks for talkin' this one through with me.

AH
__________________
2003 Honda CR80B

2004 Suzuki LT-Z400LE
Aaron H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 12:50 PM   #39
Member
 
sandjunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Yorba Linda, Ca
Posts: 86
My Converter is on a separate circuit like Griz.

One more question, how and where did you run the wires 1) from the batteries to the inverter and 2) from the inverter to the main circuit panel. Lets see those pics.

Thanks for all of your help. This has been a wonderful and enlightening thread.
__________________
2005 F350 CC LB 4x4 Lariat 6.0

2006 WW LE3305 Billet
sandjunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 04:55 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Grizwald2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Murrieta, Ca
Posts: 784
sandjunkie I mounted the XPOWER 1750 Plus by Xantrex Inverter in the Propane/Battery closet of my 5er. I went to Napa and bought 3' of battery cable and put my own ends on that I bought a Home Depot. Than I bought a 20 Amp extension cord and ran it along the frame and punched a hole into the Main power compartment and on into the breaker closet. Bought a 200 AMP circuit breaker here 200 Amp Circuit Breaker

I didn't take any pics of this part but if you need me to I can get them for you.

Griz
__________________
05 2500 HD CC D/A 4WD

06 LE 3505
Grizwald2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2005, 08:18 PM   #41
Senior Member
 
WWFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 3,479
Donno:

Just for the record, you really should have mounted it in the basement (cargo) area and punched and sealed some holes right thru the wall to the batts- there's a reason why they didn't even put a 12volt light in that compartment, and it isn't because they thought you'd never need any light to see in there. Need I say more? I know...I know...easy to do, but too risky- and it's the batts you primarily need to worry about. You may want to change that up as soon as you can.

Good site for the 200amp circuit breaker!! That' exactly the one you'd want to get- easily resettable, and looks like an easy hookup.

Hey...BTW...great seeing and pal-ing around at the Sand Sport Show yesterday...had a blast! Let's make sure we do that next year, OK? And great seeing everyone else that was there...definitely a great place, especially if you've got, say, $150k in burning a hole in your pocket!! Friends could be witnesses!! Great eye-candy, ey? And the sandcars were great too!!

Sean
__________________
http://www.irv2.com/photopost/data/508/sigfile1.jpg
http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfan/sets/
WWFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2005, 06:17 AM   #42
Senior Member
 
Grizwald2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Murrieta, Ca
Posts: 784
Sean, My belief is that inverter is going to cause no more of a spark in that compartment than that big electric motor that we lift the jacks with. With the screen mesh bottom I believe we are vented plenty. I could be wrong but! I open the front compartment when we get to distination anyway to turn the propane on and just leave the door open. seems I am always in their for somthing.

Don
__________________

__________________
05 2500 HD CC D/A 4WD

06 LE 3505
Grizwald2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter ??? Rocket Heart Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 07-02-2008 07:10 PM
Inverter NEILSJEWEL Newmar Owner's Forum 10 08-10-2007 08:22 AM
Inverter SacsTC Monaco Owner's Forum 9 07-02-2007 05:13 AM
Simple Inverter Hook Up? Plug my 50 amp to the inverter? E Z Livin MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 12-19-2005 03:59 AM
Inverter jmccrack Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 04-28-2005 05:09 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.