Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Toy Haulers Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-29-2012, 01:39 PM   #1

Pin Weight?

Newbie here. I have been searching and reading on this forum and several others about this issue. My head is spinning and I'm confused! I thought I was a fairly intelligent guy! Here goes. I have ordered a 2012 Ram 3500 Crew Cab Longbed truck, SINGLE rear wheels. Base weight of the truck is 7576 lbs. GVWR is 10100 lbs, payload is 2520 lbs. GAWR rear is 6200 lbs. GCWR is 24000 lbs. Max trail is 16250 lbs. I'm looking at Toy Haulers is the 34'-36' range with GVWR's 14k - 14.5k. Let's say I have around 1500 lbs of people, fuel, dogs, hitches, etc in the truck. So I'm weighing in at 9k lbs. The part I'm having a hard time with is the pin weight. I know the whole payload on the truck is not going to be totally on the rear axle- right? If my GVWR is 10100 lbs, and I'm weighing 9k. Does that mean my max pin weight is 1100 lbs? If that is the case, these haulers seem to have about twice that pin weight in their advertising. Am I figuring this correctly? I'm just not sure I have enough truck for this. What is the rear axle rating on this truck? Or where can I find this info? I know when the hauler is loaded, it will take off some of the pin weight, but I doubt it will be a thousand pounds! Do I need to eat my down payment on this truck and get a dually? I really don't want a dually! I've towed many a trailer in my time, but