Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Toy Haulers Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-28-2007, 01:08 PM   #1

First off I want to say how devastating the fires in So-Cal have been. If anyone here has been affected, my thoughts are out there for you. I am a firefighter and crews from my station are down there helping out. I wasn't on duty when they left.

As for the topic, it has been my intention to leave my RV in a semi ready state in case of the big one, i.e. fire, earthquake, flood, and so on. If anyone here was affected by the fires, were you able to use your RV as an evacuation home? How feasible is this thought in such a short notice as some were given during the fires? I know it takes a few hours to load up and hook up the trailer and family (dog included) for a trip. Was there enough time to do this at a moments notice? I am even sure it would be hard to drive out with the rest of the population being more agile without a trailer behind them cutting in and out of traffic.

Are there any suggestions out there that maybe I haven't thought of? I keep mine full of water and fuel, bottled water and some food, batteries, ect.

My intention here is for a learning experience for everyone from those with first hand experience.

Best of luck to all.

sjseng is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!