Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Toy Haulers Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2016, 01:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 71
Shore power our!

Trying to prep my trailer for spring and today all 110v outlets light etc do not work off shore power. I fired up the generator and everything works perfectly.

Any idea where to start to troubleshoot?

If it's not one damn thing it's another.
__________________

__________________
737Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-18-2016, 01:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,796
If you have an inverter check that you didn't trip the breaker on the inverter itself. Other than that I would unplug it, and start all over again, check all your connections ect, who knows maybe you just didn't plug something in. It Sounds like something simple. My brother in law one time set up his MH, plugged it all in to shore power, and nothing worked He started the Generator and everything worked. He worked on that thing for over an hour thinking the worst. Then he looked in the electrical bay and the main wire had come unplugged from the transfer box (which he never really checked before). Plugged it in and all was good.
__________________

__________________
Mike & Charlotte
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3610
Orange County, California
Mike and Cha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 03:58 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 43
Check all connections with a voltmeter starting with your power source, work your way towards your transfer switch, if you don't find the problem, pop the cover off the transfer switch and check for any burnt connections on the buss bar connections, had that happen to me.
__________________
Snappy2265 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 05:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 71
'Scuse me I'm an idiot. Checked everything no joy. Finally a buddy of mine strolled up reset the gfi on the shore power source and all is well.

The unit is stored in an airplane hangar which I share with two others, one of them is also plugged into the same outlet as me so something caused it to trip.

Thanks guys for your help.
__________________
737Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 05:24 PM   #5
Community Administrator
 
JohnRR's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Marquette, Michigan "Da UP"
Posts: 16,940
I'm glad it worked out so well for you, thank you for the update.
__________________
John & Cathy R.
06 Pace Arrow 38L W24
08 14 Lincoln MKX AWD
See My RV Upgrades
JohnRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 12:16 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Great American Southwest
Posts: 298
A voltmeter can be your friend, it can cut out alot of useless guessing.


The information is out there, all you have to do is let it in.
__________________
Happy Prospector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 01:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by 737Captain View Post
'Scuse me I'm an idiot. Checked everything no joy. Finally a buddy of mine strolled up reset the gfi on the shore power source and all is well.

The unit is stored in an airplane hangar which I share with two others, one of them is also plugged into the same outlet as me so something caused it to trip.

Thanks guys for your help.
If you can, replace that GFCI with a regular outlet, Ground fault interrupters were designed to protect humans from getting shocked/electrocuted, not to protect RV's. Most all RV's have trouble being hooked up to one for shore power. I understand if it is a outdoors outlet, it is suppose to have one...........but inside of a building a regular outlet would be OK. It will trip again.............
__________________

__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partial power loss on shore power? CREWofMAROON MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 11-22-2012 01:12 PM
Shore power and generator power issue BracketRacer iRV2.com General Discussion 2 09-03-2012 02:19 PM
no power unless hooked to shore power ken551 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 06-21-2012 06:55 PM
No power in house when off shore power. Batteries good. wbezemek Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 13 01-04-2012 08:16 PM
No AC power from Generator or Shore power Dale777 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 15 12-20-2007 02:46 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.