Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Toy Haulers Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-07-2006, 06:57 AM   #1

My wife and I have been camping for several years - mostly with slide-in-campers. We like being compact so we can get back in the mountains where people with bigger rigs can't go. But now we've just had our first child, and may eventually have a 2nd. This last weekend was our first outing with the our 7 month old baby in the camper, and I'll just say it was less than relaxing. We definitely need alot more room!!! (We also have a black lab.)

Is a Toyhauler or Patiohauler a good way to go? I like the idea of being able to open up the back and the extra storage room for bicycles, firewood, BBQ, baby stuff, etc. I do have a 4-wheeler that we may take sometimes also. We have snowmobiles that we used to take alot on winter camping trips, but I guess we probably wouldn't take a Toyhauler snow camping with sleds.

If a Toyhauler is a good idea for our situation, what are some good brands we should consider? Also, it seems that most are bumper pull instead of 5th wheel. Why is that? I want something off-roadable. I'm used to using low-range 4-wheel drive to get back into our camping sites! Thanks for the info!
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!