Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Toy Haulers Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2006, 09:12 PM   #1
Moderator in Memoriam
 
Kablewizard's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Mesa, AZ, USA
Posts: 2,361
We have the 17VS, and to turn on the overhead light closest to the beds it takes 2 switches on at the same time, One goes to the outside light then you can use the other. Anyone have a solution so I can just turn it on or bypass it so We can use it from the top bed?
__________________

__________________
Jim (SSG US Army Ret.) and Cheri (TSG Phx ANG Ret.) Mesa, AZ
2006 Dodge Ram 2500 HD Mega Cab Diesel | 2005 Honda Goldwing | 2006 35' Dune Chaser 5th Wheel
Kablewizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-28-2006, 09:12 PM   #2
Moderator in Memoriam
 
Kablewizard's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Mesa, AZ, USA
Posts: 2,361
We have the 17VS, and to turn on the overhead light closest to the beds it takes 2 switches on at the same time, One goes to the outside light then you can use the other. Anyone have a solution so I can just turn it on or bypass it so We can use it from the top bed?
__________________

__________________
Jim (SSG US Army Ret.) and Cheri (TSG Phx ANG Ret.) Mesa, AZ
2006 Dodge Ram 2500 HD Mega Cab Diesel | 2005 Honda Goldwing | 2006 35' Dune Chaser 5th Wheel
Kablewizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2006, 02:26 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Jim, it sounds like you may have lost the ground for the one fixture and it is getting a complete circuit through the other when it is turned on. Take a long enough piece of wire to run from a good chassis ground to the light fixture and with lens removed add this ground temporarily to verify this is indeed the problem. If so just try to fix the present ground connection or provide a new one. Let me know how you do. Otherwise, how is the new rig doing? I bet you are having fun!
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2006, 07:38 PM   #4
Moderator in Memoriam
 
Kablewizard's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Mesa, AZ, USA
Posts: 2,361
Mike , its not a bad ground. I tried that but Don said they are all like that. I am looking for a wiring diagram. So I can see how its done, and maybe someone who knows where the splices are . But It must take someone with a tie in to a repair shop to get the wiring diagram. I can't even find anything on their site.
__________________
Jim (SSG US Army Ret.) and Cheri (TSG Phx ANG Ret.) Mesa, AZ
2006 Dodge Ram 2500 HD Mega Cab Diesel | 2005 Honda Goldwing | 2006 35' Dune Chaser 5th Wheel
Kablewizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 01:02 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Jim, sounds like you will have to get 12 volt + to the switch that controls the closet light. It must be picking it up from the outside light fixture and it is only present with it's switch is on; naturally. Good luck.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there something weird going on... or is it me? Frank P. Martin Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Concerns 8 01-16-2008 09:38 AM
Emerald Desert Palm Desert Reopens BZam Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 2 11-14-2007 05:56 AM
Hello from the Mojave Desert Mojave Red New Member Check-In 8 04-22-2005 04:03 PM
Desert Wildflowers bivt Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 03-14-2005 06:44 PM
Desert Wildflowers Just Conversation 4 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.