Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2012, 04:03 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Hitchpin's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 110
12 VDC TV Receptacle ?

Hi All

I sleep with a cpap that will run on 12VDC, I have a adapter cord that will plug into a 12VDC lighter receptacle. Does anyone know if you can use the 12VDC receptacle that is for the TV to run other stuff? The cpap only needs 5amp and the TV receptacle is good for 8amp.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Hitchpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-24-2012, 04:58 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
Yes you can use that plug. I tapped into the sconce light next to the bed and added an outlet for the wifes CPAP.
__________________

__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 05:24 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
The outlet is fairly "Low power" if your CPAP needs more than 100 watts, the outlet likely won't work.

IF, on the other hand, it can live with say 50 watts of power,, GO 4 IT.

The one thing that almost will never work if plugged in there.. A TV (They need too much power) Just so you know.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
Hitchpin -

Your CPAP will use 5amps (60 watts) max. That's if it's at the highest cfm setting, which is very rare. My wifes is set at 6 cfm and it takes about 35 watts. So, yes you can use that 12v TV outlet, no problem. If your TV is an LCD or LED, you could use both at the same time with a 12v Y adapter.

I believe wa8yxm, was referring to the dash 12v outlet, so you could use that if you ever wanted to sleep while driving

If that TV outlet isn't convienient for you, PM me and I'll explain how I set one up next to the bed.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:11 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
It all you need is 5 amps, it should do fine. Now do you have enough amp-hours in your battery bank to run the CPAP all night? Check your battery rating and be sure it is adequately charged.

Ken.
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 04:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Hitchpin's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 110
Thanks to all, for your help.
__________________
Hitchpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 06:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Shadowcatche's Avatar
 
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,218
What is it fused for and what is the wire gage, that should tell you.
__________________
Shadowcatche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 07:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
I agree, the outlet is good for about 10 amps, so if you need half that, GO-4-IT as one local TV station (To where I am) says (Channel 4 of course, WDIV think Detroit IV (4 in roman numerals).

IF the unit is rated for use with an automobile as a power source, No problems...

And even if it's not.. Many of those 12 volt wall warts and power bricks,, the regulation is.. Shall we say.. Not all that great.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.