Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2016, 11:28 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
rideandslide's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Waynesville Georgia
Posts: 1,102
2015 Norcold Frig.

Our 2015 has a Norcold Frig. which has been great ! Much better than the Dometic in our old TT, It will auto switch from ac to propane when no ac is available. Question is, other than turning of the breaker, is there any other way to make it switch to propane when hooked up to ac ?
__________________

__________________
Lovin Our Grey Wolf 26RL !! Jim & Pat
rideandslide is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-17-2016, 11:30 AM   #2
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25,420
2015 Norcold Frig.

There should be a control panel on the front of the unit. What model # do you have ?
__________________

__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 11:35 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,579
On ours you can set it to propane, electric, or auto. When set on Auto it will make electric the choice over propane. There should be a mode selection button next to the temperature setting button.
__________________
Mike & Charlotte
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3610
Orange County, California
Mike and Cha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 11:46 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
rideandslide's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Waynesville Georgia
Posts: 1,102
Have not found any temp. setting on it, would actually like to turn the frig. down a little, almost, but not quite, to the frezzing point. Love nice ice cream out of the freezer though !!!
__________________
Lovin Our Grey Wolf 26RL !! Jim & Pat
rideandslide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 11:51 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2,579
On ours they are on the bottom door. They are little rubber type buttons with red LED displays.
__________________
Mike & Charlotte
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3610
Orange County, California
Mike and Cha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 12:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
rideandslide's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Waynesville Georgia
Posts: 1,102
Thanks, will look one more time ! Our house frig crapped out, and using the TT ( Chase 2 ) frig as backup now, so sure it won't be long till out there !
__________________
Lovin Our Grey Wolf 26RL !! Jim & Pat
rideandslide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 12:55 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 44
Sounds like you have a Norcold N611/811v refrigerator. There is no control for switching from AC to propane. The only temperature adjustment is by sliding the thermistor up or down on the cooling fin inside the refrigerator.
__________________
MrNiceGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 01:12 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
TheMatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike and Cha View Post
On ours you can set it to propane, electric, or auto. When set on Auto it will make electric the choice over propane. There should be a mode selection button next to the temperature setting button.
Ditto. There must be a switch Jim.
__________________
___________________
2016 Lance 1995
2016 RAM 1500 Laramie Longhorn (Custom)
TheMatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 01:21 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
rideandslide's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Waynesville Georgia
Posts: 1,102
Thanks my friends ! Will look when i go out to frig. wife out of town, cooler full of beer, and not hungry yet ! But will let you know !!!

The cooling fins in freezer or box ? The clip just like the one one the ac coils ?
__________________
Lovin Our Grey Wolf 26RL !! Jim & Pat
rideandslide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 08:40 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 44
The cooling fins in the refrigerator are where you will find the thermister. My thermister is on the 2nd or 3rd fin, haven't bothered with it lately. As far as a switch to use propane only, sorry no switch on this model. I called Norcold to see if controls found on some of their other units could be retrofitted and the answer was no. This refrigerator almost stopped me from purchasing our RV. This is the cheapest refrigerator I have ever seen in a RV.
__________________

__________________
MrNiceGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
norcold


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Resid. Frig Option in 2015 VLE 34XX or 36XX SCF Newmar Owner's Forum 1 07-10-2014 02:09 PM
RV Frig vs. House Frig question smiybrneyes iRV2.com General Discussion 13 08-01-2011 05:34 AM
How to reset a Norcold frig? Slide-in-Dad RV Systems & Appliances 17 12-30-2008 10:51 PM
Norcold 1200 Frig Error code "no AC" (2 way, 4 door) mikewy RV Systems & Appliances 1 07-13-2007 05:17 PM
How to reset a Norcold frig? Jim Creighton RV Systems & Appliances 3 07-20-2005 05:39 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.