Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2015, 12:58 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 12
30amp camper; 50 amp campsite hookup

Howdy all. Been reading a few threads on 30 amp and 50 amp hookups.
My travel trailer is rated for 30 amps. I will be going to a campground next weekend (Shin Pond Campground) that offers 50 amp service. My 30 amp plug has a three prong connection..isnt 50 amp four prongs?
Do I need an adaptor to hook up to their services?
Dont really want to run off the battery again...
If I do need an adaptor...where should I get one? Amazon?
Thanks everybody.
Lee
__________________

__________________
cheekster96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-31-2015, 01:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
justafordguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 399
Yes you will need an adapter if the campground pedestal doesn't also have a 30 amp outlet, most 50 amp sites have both. The adapters are cheap and you can get them from Amazon, Walmart, RV shop. etc.
__________________

__________________
2015 Gateway 3650BH
2005 F250 CC 4x4
justafordguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 01:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
RandyKathyM's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 191
In my 20 years of RVing never ran across a 50 amp only pedestal.
__________________
Randy & Kathy
2004 Southwind 37A
RandyKathyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 01:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
69Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Valdosta, Ga
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyKathyM View Post
In my 20 years of RVing never ran across a 50 amp only pedestal.
Me either. The first time I don't have the adapter I will though
__________________
1998 Southwind Storm 34S
2015 Ford Focus Hatchback SE
Retired Air Force 1981-2006
69Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 01:49 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
damdannyboy's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 411
I don't think they make a step-up adapter. Step down yes!!!
__________________
........Damdannyboy........
2003 Newmar Scottsdale
1997 Harley FLHT
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
damdannyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 02:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Posts: 552
You can by an adaptor box that plugs into the 30 amp plug and the 20 amp plug with a 50 amp receptacle.
__________________
Darwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 02:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Wizard's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Home on the hill in Georgia
Posts: 2,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by damdannyboy View Post
I don't think they make a step-up adapter. Step down yes!!!
You can buy a 30 to 50 and also a 50 to 30
__________________
Jerry & Patsy Potter, Taz & Jake Jr.
2000 Winnebago Journey
2006 Ford Explorer 4X4
Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 02:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 370
Get the adapter. We have an rv with 30 amp wiring but have been to a few places where the 30 amp outlet is worn or otherwise malfunctioning. It's good to have a backup.
__________________
2003 Itasca Sunrise 32v F53
Okiedoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 02:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Vintage RV Owners Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bartlesville Oklahoma
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyKathyM View Post
In my 20 years of RVing never ran across a 50 amp only pedestal.
I did two weeks ago in the Ozarks! With luck I happen too have an adapter.
__________________
1996 Damon DayBreak 454 P37 Chassis
Lifemember is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 04:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 568
I have 30 but always when available use the adaptor and the 50. I find it easier to reset the fuse inside then going outside to do it....
__________________
RVGuy1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 05:23 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darwin View Post
You can by an adaptor box that plugs into the 30 amp plug and the 20 amp plug with a 50 amp receptacle.
I call that box a GFCI tester.. If the 20 amp outlet has a GFCI it will trip it, if the 30 amp is a GFCI (some are) it will trip it as well.

I do, however, have the ability to break out one of the A/C's on my 50 amp rig and run it off the parks' 20 amp socket,, That works and no tripping.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 05:32 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
rideandslide's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Waynesville Georgia
Posts: 1,273
We carry a 50 amp to 30 amp ,a 30 amp to 15 amp, and a 15 amp to 30 amp adapter.
__________________
rideandslide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 05:36 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
450Donn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas,OR
Posts: 2,555
50A RV box will also have a 15/20 and a 30A outlet. You simply plug into the appropriate outlet for your RV.
__________________
Don and Lorri
2007 Dodge 3500 dually
Resident Dummy.
450Donn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 05:41 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Winepress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 574
Lee, the simplest solution is to call the campground and ask. Most likely will have the 30 amp outlet that you need and save you $ by not buying an adapter.
__________________

__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369
Try to live up to your dogs opinion of you.
Winepress is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smart Energy Management system not reading 50 amp power CWHTRAINS Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 21 08-29-2016 07:29 AM
Amp hours / voltage reading question RPrince Boondocking 16 07-01-2015 06:49 AM
50 amp down to 15 amp for use in shed steelbreezzz Just Conversation 21 05-25-2015 07:32 AM
30 amp service really 20 amp dvmweb iRV2.com General Discussion 18 09-05-2014 12:29 PM
30 amp to 50 amp upgrade Rockwood27 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 01-21-2014 04:33 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.