Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-01-2014, 09:00 PM   #1

Absolute newbie with a battery question

Hi there! My husband and I bought a 1969 Aloha in great shape recently, for a fellow we know to live in through the winter. The guy we bought it from doesn't seem to know much about it - he bought it from an electrician, who apparently rewired it, or something.

Here's what we know: when you plug in the power to the back of the trailer, it gives electricity to the outlets that have been installed throughout, the microwave, and we *think* the water pump and the heater fan. There are two overhead lights in the main area and one in the bathroom that do NOT run off that electricity.

The previous owner made the loose suggestion that 'we might want to get a battery'. So my husband did some research and got a deep cycle battery, appropriate to our travel trailer. We installed it, and voila, the overhead lights worked! Huzzah!