Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2015, 07:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 187
AC + Microwave = tripped breaker @ SERVICE POLE!

So, 3rd time this has happened to me.

I run on a 30 Amp service from the pole at a campground (No extension cord), if I run the AC & Microwave at the same time, the breaker at the service pole trips. First time I thought it was just old gear, maybe the second time too. But this week were at Clear Laker and the electrical looks very new, so it's not a "soft" breaker.

Determined that AC & MW are on different circuits but the same phase.

#1- I am surprised the 2 heaviest loads on are on the same phase.

#2 - I am assuming the breaker is tripping because the load is so unbalanced.

Considering moving the AC or MW to a different phase.
__________________

__________________
Smithers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-30-2015, 07:17 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,325
With 30 AMP there is only one "phase." Perhaps your 30 AMP breaker in the RV allows a higher load than the 30 AMP breaker at the pole.
__________________

__________________
lynnmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 07:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
cc8375's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pasadena, Md.
Posts: 1,075
I believe a 30 amp circuit is only one Phase. Check all the connectors, Tight, check all lugs or screws in the breaker box. It appear you are drawing More then 30 amps to kick the breaker. Did you check the voltage by chance? Is there any unknown source running? Hot water heater, converter etc.

"A 30 amp RV service is really just a glorified 120 volt single pole outlet. Electrical outlets are labeled with a NEMA code designation. The 30 amp outlet used in an RV application is designated a NEMA TT-30R and the plug is a TT-30P. The TT stands for Travel Trailer so you won't be finding this outlet in any residential environment. The P and R stand for Plug and Receptacle respectively. This is a 3 prong plug that consists of a 120 volt hot wire, a neutral wire, and a safety ground "
__________________
CC..... Happy Rving!!
2013 Newmar - Canyon Star 3940
2012 Honda CR-V toad
cc8375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 07:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 187
Doh! HOT WATER HEATER.... The silent amp eater!!!

__________________
Smithers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 07:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bfmorgan's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern United States
Posts: 270
The microwave and AC together will be close to 23-25 amps. Add in the converter charging the batteries and you are at or over 30 amps. If you have an electric element in your water heater, or an inverter, then you will be well beyond 30 amps.
__________________
Brad & Bonnie
2007 Monaco Dynasty 42 Diamond
Bfmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 07:52 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 27
I'm surprised the 30 amp breaker in your camper is not tripping.. I would try to get a amperage reading at that breaker..

Maybe you have a problem with your cord or plug..

Joe
__________________
meganjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 07:53 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
cc8375's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pasadena, Md.
Posts: 1,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithers View Post
Doh! HOT WATER HEATER.... The silent amp eater!!!

When we are tight on power I will turn the Hot water heater off while cooking breakfast.
__________________
CC..... Happy Rving!!
2013 Newmar - Canyon Star 3940
2012 Honda CR-V toad
cc8375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 05:39 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 568
that's why I always choose the 50 amp and use an adaptor. the fuse blows but inside so I never have to go outside to reset it.
__________________
RVGuy1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 07:35 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
There is only one phase... (Long argument let's skip it) split into 2 legs on 50 amp and on sticks and bricks power.

There is also only one LEG on 30 amps

Theory is you SHOULD be able to run both A/C and Micro at same time but... Wait.. There is more

There is the Fridge 2.5-3.5 amps
There is the converter (very little power if batteries fully charged, GOES WAY UP if hungry) and possibly other stuff.. Televiosoins and such mostly don't count (less than 1 amp now days).

Next we have the quality of the power.. 30 amp parks tend to be older and somewhat "Anemic" when it comes to electricity.. This means you may only have 105 volts instead of 120, which means the A/C sucks more amps.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 05:46 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
TDI-Minnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,733
My owners manual specifically says to turn off the AC when using the microwave.
I think the ACs don't have a start capacitor, so the draw at startup is very high. Once it's running, you could run the microwave, but I never do.
Same reason you shouldn't run the AC on 20amp residential.
__________________
2013 Winnebago 2301BH-Red
2012 Ram 2500 Megacab HO CTD
TDI-Minnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 04:38 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVGuy1966 View Post
that's why I always choose the 50 amp and use an adaptor. the fuse blows but inside so I never have to go outside to reset it.
Good idea...
__________________
meganjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 07:36 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Franka548's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N E Ohio
Posts: 3,450
I think that the OP has found his problem. 30 amp will not run the A/C, microwave and hot water heater. a lot of the units have a switch that only allows the microwave or the hot water heater but not both, or the microwave or A/C but not both.
Frank
__________________
05 Alfa Gold 40' Motor Home "Goldie" 03 Malibu Toad towing 4 down
03 Silverado cclb 3500 drw, D/A, Reese 22k hitch
07 Alfa SeeYa Gold 30RL,2 slides,power everything Above for sale PM me for details
Franka548 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 07:49 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
cc8375's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pasadena, Md.
Posts: 1,075
"TDI - Same reason you shouldn't run the AC on 20amp residential"

I have run one Air for years on a 20 amp residential with No problems. I run Only the air with nothing else on. It draws about 13- 14 amps.
__________________
CC..... Happy Rving!!
2013 Newmar - Canyon Star 3940
2012 Honda CR-V toad
cc8375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 07:57 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,927
Think the OP understands that he is close to 30 amps--he is just curious as to why the 30 amp breaker on the "pole" always trips vs the 30 amp in his rig?????? Most of the conversation so far has been to explain why he is using more than 30 amps--think he knows that. The added resistance in his 30 amp cord might be the difference. I am not a big fan of using a dogbone adaptor to put 50 amps down a 30 amp cord--agree that the 30 amp breaker in the rig should protect the cord but any deterioration in the cord or plug-ends will not be protected once you are plugged into 50 amps--just saying......
__________________

__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MH Tripping 30 Amp Pole Breaker acecop RV Systems & Appliances 21 03-22-2015 10:43 PM
Keep tripping main breaker RANDOMLY... sometimes after a week! aaron7 iRV2.com General Discussion 17 10-26-2014 08:18 AM
RV Service in Texas... and more Statgeek iRV2.com General Discussion 15 08-20-2014 05:35 PM
15A Radio circuit breaker tripped after... pokyjoe48 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 02-02-2014 01:36 PM
Help, tripped a breaker somewhere Rusty years Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 12-11-2013 01:08 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.