Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 02-24-2013, 10:38 AM   #1
Another newbie here

After winterizing ( I drained and added a quart or so of
RV antifreeze) will my hot water tank have a foul smell?
My friend told me he had done this and his smelled for a year.
Just wondering what's in store for me. Thanks

racefan_8_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-25-2013, 02:45 AM   #2
Is it an atwood or suburban water heater? Is it a unit that can use either 110VAC or propane to heat? When winterizing did you remove the plastic plug at the bottom to drain the tank? Is the odor a rotten egg smell? The RV antifreeze (red stuff) won't cause a foul odor - I suspect you didn't empty the heater tank and the residual water has gone foul.

94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 07:06 AM   #3