Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2016, 06:21 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North Ridgeville, OH
Posts: 532
As stated, don't run the AC. I learned that the hard ($$) way when I blew the capacitor on my AC unit on my Sunline trailer. Otherwise, I've used 15 amp adapters without a problem, including running the furnace (working inside the trailer in cold weather).
__________________

__________________
Retired but busier than ever!
2013 Winnebago 2201DS - 6,200 lbs. or so loaded!
2007 Tundra 5.7
scbwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-15-2016, 06:49 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 41
Electrically you'll be fine. Like everyone else said, keep an eye on your load. I usually shut off the circuit breakers to the AC just to be sure no one accidentally turns something on that shouldn't be.
__________________

__________________
MagnaPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 07:43 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Valley Forge, PA
Posts: 117
Thanks for all the replies guys...sorry for the delay, we went on a last minute camping trip for the wknd. Woke up this morning and it was snowing!

Yeah I wouldn't run the AC, in fact I won't be doing much in there. Just got a little concerned b/c the Jayco guy was pretty adamant. He even put me on hold for a few minutes to double check with someone else.

Thanks again.
__________________
2014 Jayco Jayflight 264 BH
2009 Tundra 5.7 Crewmax w/ Tow Package
daveRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 09:19 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
TDI-Minnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,733
No problem with what you outlined.
Just don't run water heater, AC or microwave.
__________________
2013 Winnebago 2301BH-Red
2012 Ram 2500 Megacab HO CTD
TDI-Minnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 02:35 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bryan, Texas
Posts: 611
May want to keep an eye on the plug or secure it other than just plugging it in. I've had the weight of the whole plug combination fall out and even tend to waller out the prongs inside the receptacle. A little string can go along way.
__________________
charliez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 06:57 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
egwilly's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: So Calif
Posts: 482
I do this all the time (no ac) at home.....that said, if you blow something up, don't tell Jayco! : )
__________________
2016 Outdoors RV Glacier Peak 26RLS
2014 Ford F350 Superduty 6.7 Diesel.
egwilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 07:46 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
TDI-Minnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,733
Been thinking more about this. I would try to find a 20amp wall outlet. That's what I have in the garage.
Make sure the outlet and extension chord are not getting warm to touch occasionally.
__________________
2013 Winnebago 2301BH-Red
2012 Ram 2500 Megacab HO CTD
TDI-Minnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 04:31 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 187
I think it's just CYA on their part, if you have a properly functioning electrical system at home I can't imagine a problem. Even if you do use the AC, if you overload the circuit you will be protected by your house breaker/fuse.

That being said, if you have a 20A breaker and you drag out a cheap 16 g orange cord, that becomes your failure point instead of the breaker/fuse in your home. I use only a true 12 g 20 A cable to power my TT
__________________
Smithers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2016, 05:06 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 405
Yeah, well, I use a 20A circuit from the garage with a 100' #12 extension cord - I run the AC, the fridge - sometimes the TV when I'm in the dog house - and of course it charges the batteries with the converter/charger/power supply, whatever the hell that thing is. I do this when getting ready for a trip and the trailer is in the street. I may just be lucky as I have no idea what I am doing.

Well, maybe - I'm a retired Master Electrician. I ran a 30A line to the back yard where I keep my trailer. When I sold my last trailer I had the AC running and the first folks that looked at it said "what a novel idea! We have looked at many trailers and NONE were cool!" They bought it. I didn't have the heart to tell them that I had the AC on to get the trailer ready for sale!

Oh, yeah - what Smithers said...DON'T use a small guage extension cord!

Tim
__________________
2002 Holiday Rambler 30RKD
2000 F250 diesel extended cab short bed
2014 Demco Autoslide 18K
Timay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 08:16 AM   #24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Ft Raccoon
Posts: 15
Part of the fun for us camping has been swinging by friend's homes, and pulling a brief Cousin Eddie. We ran the cord into garages in a couple of places with no ill effects. And when I get home, it is hooked back up.

When we were using the Tab S, the A/C was a smaller 5k BTU unit. I think with the new rig I'll be adding a dedicated 30 amp at the house. I love using my trailers as base stations for parties at the house (why else would they put speakers and refrigerators in he things?)
__________________

__________________
XPADREX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ada



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crack in windshield: any reason not to keep using until fixed? jondrew Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 01-30-2016 07:19 PM
Any reason not to idle with ac on? suse1023 Powerstroke Engine Forum 6 04-06-2014 10:48 AM
Another Reason Not To Drive In The Snow & Ice JohnRR Class A Motorhome Discussions 34 02-13-2012 05:51 PM
any reason I can't use a bolt on a hitch? SAMCUDNEY Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 7 02-14-2011 03:58 PM
any one use Power Solutions Dual Power Adapter? Ed S RV Systems & Appliances 7 05-16-2009 01:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.