Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 08-13-2013, 02:18 PM   #1
Send a message via Yahoo to WC4Don
Brake switch cable

I'm new to all this and we bought our TT and no one really told me any thing about it. It's used and I just went out on our first camping trip with it. We went to a CG about 60 miles away and every thing went fine. As far as the hook ups go I think I did it right but I'm not really sure. I hooked up the Brake Switch Cable on the safety chains hook up, is that right or not. I have a hitch package that has the weight distribution bars and I used the electric jack to get the truck and TT level it seemed to pull pretty good but when I did get to the hills it seemed to bog the engine down more then I thought it would .. it's a 25 ft Gulf Stream Ameri Lite and I'm pulling it with a 05 Dodge Ram 1500 with a 5.7 .. now that I read with the guy bought the new camper and flipped it .. I'm only wondering if I have all my P & Q 's right .. I did the tire pressure check and the wheel nuts check ... 2 times even .. I'm head out on a 130 mile trip on Labor Day weekend.. .. I'll take any words of thought and PRAYERS .. I feel like it's going to be a good trip or I wouldn't go .. but you always wonder I guess..

WC4Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!