Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-09-2016, 12:28 PM   #1

Carlisle tires and hub temps

Hi all,
I'm about to replace my tires on my trailer. The guy I have been buying tires from for 30 years steered me away from Marathons and on to Carlisle radial HD load range E tires. I was wondering if anyone has any experience with these?

I was also wondering at what temperature is an axle hub too hot? I have an IR gun and am curious what acceptable temps are. Thanks a bunch.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-09-2016, 12:38 PM   #2

Caelisle tires and hub temps

Correction: marathons and Carlisle ST's started wearing in strange ways. I never had radials as I do a lot of hard turns backing up and my tires twist a lot.

My 3rd set are Maxxis ST load range e. They are wearing well going on 3 yrs.

My hub temps range 130-150F. The temps should all be comparable assuming bearing lube is good and brakes are adjusted the same.

10k# 35' TT, Dexter ezlube axles