Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2016, 05:50 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
tmw188's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 2,393
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
So sorry to hear about this happening to you. For the electrician assuming things can be costly and dangerous. Did he wire a knew chord plug that matches the trailer, if so I'm surprised he did didn't notice the the markings on the plug screws?


iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________

__________________
Dolphin 6376LX, 3 slide, W-24, Toyo tires, Blue OX Aventa LX, Patriot brake assist, 09' Saturn Vue
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-05-2016, 08:08 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
franknj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 216
I have to hank everyone for your help and comments. At least I understand what happened now. I'm calmed down now and can deal with the next part of this saga....calling the electrician and making the appointment with RV service to check all the electrical equipment and replace what's damaged.

Having this forum and all of your collective knowledge really makes a huge difference. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
2014 Jayco Eagle 298RLDS
2014 Ram 2500 6.4 Hemi 4x4
franknj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 08:32 AM   #17
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by franknj View Post
I tested the new outlet and I get 115v approx in esch of the angled slots and the ground in the top hole. Am I measuring right and is that what it should be? I used two rv extention chords that I've used many times camping so I don't think they are the issue.

Here is what the meter shows.
franknj;
115v approx in each of the angled slots and the ground in the top hole is NOT what you want from a "30A RV receptacle".

What you need/want is a meter reading of approx 120V when one meter probe is inserted into one of the 2 angled slots and the other probe into the 2nd angled slot....(see Old-Biscuit's post #10).

Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 11:37 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ca
Posts: 1,050
Amateur did mine correctly, thank goodness.
__________________
timetogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 11:53 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: FORT WORTH, TEXAS
Posts: 1,532
I can understand your frustration. You pay someone who is supposed to know what they are doing and they screw it up. I will also say I will recomend getting a Surge guard unit to protect you in the future. I will also recommend getting a 50 amp unit so you don't have to buy another if when you get a unit with 50 amp service. I had my Surgeguard save me atleast twice last year. I like the portable one because you can check the power at a campsite or several if the first is bad without moving your camper.
Bill
__________________
2003 Bounder 38N
5.9 Cummins 3000MH Allison Trans.
Towing a 2014 Honda CRV with a Blue Ox tow bar.
WILDEBILL308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 12:07 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
plasma800's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 3,198
Blog Entries: 1
Dude, I just can't believe that!!! What a serious mistake!!!!

The electrician never asked if you wanted 120 or 240 did he? For a lot of shops, 240 is common, and of course houses for dryers... as mentioned... and personally, I might have forgotten to tell him as well.

When I had my plug just installed at home, I forgot to tell him "120 please", but he stopped and asked... " Does that trailer go 120? " --- which clued me in that I had totally forgotten to mention it up front......

A surge guard would have caught it, it stinks to say that in hindsight,,,,, When I first plugged into my new rv receptacle, I was a bit nervous, of course. And I started with only the surge guard to see if would detect any problems before plugging my RV to it.

Part of me feels like he should have asked what voltage service you needed, as part of his design implementation process responsibility .... and another part of me feels like you should have been one to be sure he knew, as the owner responsibility... BUT, if I were in your shoes, I would have forgotten to mention it...simply because I didn't think about it before hand.. it just didn't click for me..

I know written text can come off snarky, and that is absolutely not how I mean for that to sound. Just talking through it.

Ultimately, he should have asked. Or at the very least had you sign off for 120 or 240 before starting the work, even just a CYA situation for him. He should have asked for the specs on whatever item was to be plugged into that outlet. Did his receipt say what voltage was hooked up?

Really sorry for the trouble, and on such a new unit. What a shame
__________________
RVM#78 - -USAF- F-15 Eagle Radar Vet
'05 Fleetwood Revolution '12 Chevy 2500 '15 Airstream Intl Sig. 27FB
'14 Ram 3500 Aisin
plasma800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 01:21 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
franknj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 216
@plasma800 - is there valid 30amp configuration for an rv using a proper 30amp rv outlet as shown? I believe 50amp service is 220/240v but not the 30amp. which should always be 120v but 50amp service should have a completely different plug style as not to confuse the two accidentally.
__________________
2014 Jayco Eagle 298RLDS
2014 Ram 2500 6.4 Hemi 4x4
franknj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 01:26 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by franknj View Post
@plasma800 - is there valid 30amp configuration for an rv using a proper 30amp rv outlet as shown? I believe 50amp service is 220/240v but not the 30amp. which should always be 120v but 50amp service should have a completely different plug style as not to confuse the two accidentally.
They are both here. The right side is 30 amp.

The second graphic is with a 50 to 30 adaptor shown.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1465151045418.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	75.0 KB
ID:	129245   Click image for larger version

Name:	1465151144502.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	87.0 KB
ID:	129247  

__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 02:16 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,324
Right on the outlet will be the specifications; 125 volt, 30 amp.

Unfortunately 3 wires are WAY too complicated for the modern skill set. Even making them white, black and bare doesn't give them a clue. Sad.
__________________
lynnmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 03:19 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 403
If his picture is where he was reading 120 indefinitely he is definitely wired up wrong it should have been no reading ground and neutral that should have been his ground and neutral poles.
__________________
dustyone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 05:41 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
franknj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 216
@dustyone - yes the leads picture is where the reading came from.
__________________
2014 Jayco Eagle 298RLDS
2014 Ram 2500 6.4 Hemi 4x4
franknj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 05:52 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by franknj View Post
It just happened today and haven't called him yet. I wanted to get my blood pressure back first. Yes licensed electrician with insurance. And yes I will be filing a claim. I just checked the TV and blue ray. They seem to work. The refer and the ac is what I'm really worried about now. The microwave is an easy replacement.
Many modern electronics will run on anything from 100V to 240V (because the power supply just turns AC into DC), so that'd explain why the TV and Blu-ray player are fine.

A/C should be fine, as long as you didn't turn it on. The fridge might be ok. If not, it's most likely just a control board.
__________________
cwsqbm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 09:11 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
TheMatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 405
So sorry to hear this. I'm not going to add my 2c here as I'm gutted for you and it's already been said. I would have blown a fuse in my head if this happened to me. Please get a surge/circuit detector and never plug in ANYWHERE without testing first.

Really hope that the appliances just blew fuses etc and easily fixed.

Hope all goes well and keep us posted.
__________________
___________________
2016 Lance 1995
2016 RAM 1500 Laramie Longhorn (Custom)
TheMatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 11:18 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bryan, Texas
Posts: 611
At least it wasn't self inflicted. My FIL plugged into a big fat plug and the prongs were wrong so he got some pliers and bent his prong to match the hole. The 240 volt hole. They had to replace everything except ac and fridge. I will NEVER let anyone wore something for me.
__________________

__________________
charliez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, power, shore power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Issues on Shore Power bobcaller Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 04-12-2016 06:10 PM
Damage from sun verses damage from cover donnickerson Newmar Owner's Forum 9 03-22-2016 07:44 AM
Electrical Issue - Shore Power? woolleyspc Newmar Owner's Forum 1 11-16-2015 05:53 PM
Electrical - Shore Power 15A Old Rv'er Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 15 07-29-2008 08:04 PM
No AC power from Generator or Shore power Dale777 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 15 12-20-2007 02:46 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.