Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2011, 01:27 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Ohgoodiee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
Electrical wiring - 12 volt

Can anyone explain why there is a gigantic capacitor behind my electric panel. Thanks much in advance.

Doug
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0115.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	240.1 KB
ID:	15212  
__________________

__________________
Ohgoodiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-30-2011, 02:38 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Looks like an A/C Fan Cap... I am new to RV's, but that would be my guess.
__________________

__________________
NavySub761 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 02:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tranquility's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 104
I agree. Given the draw on the A/C units, a capacitor is required. Same on a residential unit. Extends the life on hermetically sealed compressors on start up.
__________________
tranquility is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 06:33 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
There are a few reasons with adding a cap to a motor.. but the main reason is for starting torque on an a/c compressor..
Read this, it explains more than I could.

http://www.brighthub.com/engineering...les/44951.aspx
__________________
NavySub761 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 12:24 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Ohgoodiee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
Hi guys and thank you for taking the time to answer my question. It turns out that is to prevent spikes in the 12 volt system (see pic - it's on the 12volt side of the electric panel). An example would be if you had all of your 12v lights on and kicked on the furnace or if you plugged in your converter with the furnace on.
__________________
Ohgoodiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 06:18 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
EMD_Driver's Avatar
 
Excel Owners Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gerrardstown, WV
Posts: 525
Thanks for letting us know what it is there for. I wouldn't think a 120VA capacitor would have bare terminals like that. Are there any part numbers on it? Looks like something I would like to have in our 5er...
__________________
2007 Excel Limited 30RKE 32' fifth wheel
2003 Excel Limited 35LKE 37' fifth wheel
2011 Ford F250XLT SRW Crew Cab, Long bed 6.7PSD
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
EMD_Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 08:11 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 123
I'm thinking it's a +12 VDC 'smoothing' Capacitor. They have a 'flywheel' effect by absorbing transient Spikes and DC perturbations. They're also commonly used in Audio Systems to coast the +12 VDC supply through brief, periodic power drops.

I can't find a 'good enough' Article to link right now.

Measure across the Capacitor and to Chassis to confirm the Voltage on it.
__________________
Engineer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 12:53 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
Is (or was) your Converter a Magnatek 6300 (or your power panel)

Magnatek had an optional "Battery Simulator" for those who wished to run the unit without a rechargable 12 volt battery... What, you ask, is a "Battery Simulator" Well.. it's what is in your photo, a great big Condenser (Capacitor)

Also, if your converter does not have internal filterling (The Magnatek did not and though it is the only one I know for sure did not,,, It is very likely not the only one) Well... that "Hardening Capacitor" as they are now known.. Is the answer.

It takes the pulsuating DC out from some low end converters and greatly smooths it.

NOTE: In my younger days, I designed and built my own power supplies (Another name for Converters... only smaller) so I'm speaking from experience.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 01:49 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Ohgoodiee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 7
Magnatek TU-740-2

It's a Magnatek TU-740-2. In my younger days, I used to mess with a lot of power supplies, etc, but didn't think about something like this. Thank you for this insight.

Doug


Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
Is (or was) your Converter a Magnatek 6300 (or your power panel)

Magnatek had an optional "Battery Simulator" for those who wished to run the unit without a rechargable 12 volt battery... What, you ask, is a "Battery Simulator" Well.. it's what is in your photo, a great big Condenser (Capacitor)

Also, if your converter does not have internal filterling (The Magnatek did not and though it is the only one I know for sure did not,,, It is very likely not the only one) Well... that "Hardening Capacitor" as they are now known.. Is the answer.

It takes the pulsuating DC out from some low end converters and greatly smooths it.

NOTE: In my younger days, I designed and built my own power supplies (Another name for Converters... only smaller) so I'm speaking from experience.
__________________

__________________
Ohgoodiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wiring, electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12 volt electrical problem 92 imperial mmcl26554 Monaco Owner's Forum 4 10-10-2011 10:09 PM
Should High Line Chassis's Be 24 Volt? Lug_Nut Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum 16 08-24-2008 07:27 AM
OVERCOMING WIRING GREMLINS DriVer Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 10 12-26-2007 07:15 PM
I need electrical help dashboard wiring HarveyP MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 10-08-2006 10:04 AM
12 volt electrical problem Ron and Patti Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 08-14-2006 11:26 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.