Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-25-2015, 11:06 AM   #1

Freedom Express A/C

I've been RVing since 2007 and learned something new that I'd never heard before. I've had a 30ft TT and a POP-up and have always plugged into my household electric service. I just purchased a 2016 27ft Coachmen Freedom Express Model 231RBDS. During the new owner orientation the instructor said DO NOT connect to household receptical to use the A/C. Household current only supplies 15 amps and the A/C requires a full 30 amp. He said it would throw the breaker but if it didn't it would fry the adaptor that plugs into the TT cord in order to plug into house hold current. MY QUESTION: What must be done to get 30 amps from my household current. Please advise.
biker777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!