Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2016, 02:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6
Generator - Air Conditioner

I'm considering getting a little, gas generator to run the ac unit in my camper occasionally--I camp in some hot spots during the summer, so running the ac would be nice from time to time. I'm looking at a unit that has a 1500 watt starting to 3,000 watt running. Would this be sufficient to run a 13,500 ac unit? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Goostew65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-12-2016, 02:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Nowhere, now here. Freedom!
Posts: 3,003
You've got the numbers switched, I'm sure.

13.5K BTU's is equal to just under 4K watts.

http://www.rapidtables.com/convert/p...TU_to_Watt.htm
__________________

__________________
ORV 19B Full Timer, '14 Ram 2500 Diesel and a GSD. This signature updated, May 1, '17.
Currently funemployed in Vancouver WA de K7NOL 146.52Mhz Safety? (CLICK ME!)
1bigmess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 03:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tuffr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Palm Coast Florida
Posts: 2,458
The trouble is you will want to run other things also, like mico-wave, TV etc. I woukd recommend either a Honda or Yamaha generator that can generate 3,000watts. That will run your 13,500 A/C unit if you turn it on slowly. Turn on the fan only for 10 - 15 seconds then A/C low for 10 -15 seconds then A/C high.

The bees knees generator would have remote start and have wheels.
__________________
tuffr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 03:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 680
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuffr2 View Post
The trouble is you will want to run other things also, like mico-wave, TV etc. I woukd recommend either a Honda or Yamaha generator that can generate 3,000watts. That will run your 13,500 A/C unit if you turn it on slowly. Turn on the fan only for 10 - 15 seconds then A/C low for 10 -15 seconds then A/C high.

The bees knees generator would have remote start and have wheels.


I would second this. I have a Yamaha 2400 Watt inverter/generator and I had to install a hard start capacitor on the A/C before it would run it. This was after I spoke with the Dometic tech rep and he told me to put in the capacitor. The genny then ran it, but probably would not run anything else. Go with a 3,000 or more or pair a couple of 2,000 ones. Unfortunately, we just bought a new trailer and the A/C is a 15k unit, and while I haven't tried to run it with my 2400 yet, I doubt if it will.
__________________
parkerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 05:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
tuffr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Palm Coast Florida
Posts: 2,458
I also have a Yamha 2400is inverter/generator. Also agree it will run a 13.5k btu A/C unit if you are very careful.

Also am mostly sure it will not run a 15k btu A/C unit.
__________________
tuffr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 02:50 PM   #6
Member
 
StuartN's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 81
Using a pair of Honda 2000 generators I was able to run a single 13.5k A/C and a few other items. We weren't able to run the microwave or water heater (electric mode) though. Just takes a bit of planning.

I found it easier to use a pair of generators as opposed to one larger rated one, as the two were easier to move around, load up, etc. I also added an extended run fuel tank that allowed both to draw from a shared 6 gallon tank which increased the run time/refill interval.
__________________
StuartN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 06:57 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
One thing I always felt was a disadvantage with a trailer (or fifth wheel) vs a motorhome was that when you stopped, you had a hot interior. With a motorhome your were "precooled". With that idea in mind, why couldn't I used the simaalr technique and mount 2 Honda 2000's, run in parallel like yours, and put them in my pickup bed. Then an hour or so before stopping I could cool the interior of my trailer while driving down the road.
There is way to bypass the 20 amp circuit breaker and hook up using a 30 amp breaker to a 30 amp plug.


You guys think this is doable?
__________________
Retired

Now only do one thing per day
prairie mic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 09:39 PM   #8
Member
 
jason_sos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 97
With most shore power cords in the rear of the trailer, I would be interested in knowing how you'd string the shore power cord up to the pickup bed while driving down the road.

Otherwise, the other concern I would have is making sure the exhaust doesn't melt any bedliner.
__________________
2016 Coachmen Freedom Express 282BHDS
2008 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 4x4 Big Horn, 5.7L HEMI
jason_sos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 09:51 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 568
I would assume since no one can safely ride in the TT while its in motion there really is not any need for cooling. I'm sure a smart handy person could use the storage in the rear of one to install a good genny and then tie it in to the AC.
__________________

__________________
RVGuy1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner, generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator won't turn on air conditioner Redhead47 Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 06-23-2015 09:14 PM
A nice generator to run the air conditioner SailorDon Boondocking 9 05-02-2014 08:14 AM
Air Conditioner / Generator Puzzler! sbowers174 RV Systems & Appliances 4 05-27-2013 10:09 PM
Air Conditioner Not Running on Generator Power memphisflyer Class A Motorhome Discussions 8 05-11-2012 07:30 AM
Running roof air conditioner on generator millardbr Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 07-29-2008 07:19 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.