Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2011, 06:59 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Question Help? 240volt trailer

Hi I just purchased a 1974 Kencraft trailer and it seems to have
240v 80 amp power. It has a 40amp rated cord into a power
box that starts with two 40amp curcits. my problem is that I need
to hook up to dry outlet and cant find an adapter with those type
of blades...I have adapters to power off of 115v 15amp but this is
not enough power. Does anyone know about these trailers or any
ideals what to do. Thank you for any help you can send my way.
__________________

__________________
mikeye74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-03-2011, 07:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
mahon1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fowlerville, Mich.
Posts: 606
Before you plug anything in be sure you know what you are dealing with. I am not familiar with a 1974 Kencraft trailer but I don't think it needs 240 volts to operate. The 240 volt 80 amps you mention, are those just the maximun power ratings of the breaker box and the power cord that are stamped or printed on them? Do you have an owners manual for it? That would tell you a lot. If not, I would suggest that you get a friend that is familiar with RV's to look at it, or an electrician to see what you are dealing with. Somebody might of changed the power plug to fit an outlet they had at home not using a standard RV plug. You don't want to plug anything in until you know what you are dealing with. You could blow things up and/or cause a fire. Can you post some pictures of what you are talking about?
Greg
__________________

__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 40PBD
2012 Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 FatBoy, three spoiled Great Danes and a cat.
mahon1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 07:40 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
thanks for the reply. I currently have it powered on 115v and its working good,
but Im only using the lights and a small fridge I put in. I will post pic's shortly and would appriciate your feedback on what you think on what you see. Pretty much yes to all your questions except no to the owners manual. I thinks it is240v split at the box into two seperate 40amp 115v circuits. Would this be
normal for the time era??? thanks again back shortly with pic's
__________________
mikeye74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 07:46 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
VintageTrailerEnthusiasts : Vintage Trailer Enthusiasts

Check this vintage group as well. They may know more about the Kencraft.

I doubt if a trailer of that age was factory wired for 240 volts. If was probably modified.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 08:17 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
Smile

Yes I will check that out and thanks here are the pic's of this unit thanks again
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0978.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	249.4 KB
ID:	12688   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0979.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	178.8 KB
ID:	12689  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0980.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	341.8 KB
ID:	12690  
__________________
mikeye74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 11:36 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,821
If the plug it came with has 3 flat blades and one round or U shaped one then the service is not 240 volt, it's 120/240 volt and hooking to a dryer outlet is.. DANGEROUS.

I will explain why... (And I will talk about 50 amp rv's since this unit should plug into a 50 amp outlet)

In a 50 amp RV, generally speaking everything runs on 120vac or 12vdc, We will pay attention only to the AC side.. It's all 120 volt, no 240 volt anything save for possibly a sensor in the EMS if you have one (Energy Management System) that is the only 240 volt device, it's job, to detect when you are plugged into a proper 50 amp outlet.

Now, the reason for the 120/240/120 volt system is power loss. Let's say I'm running one air conditioner, nothing more.. Well there is power loss in the HOT wire coming to the rig from the transformer.. And more in the NEUTRAL hauling the current back to the transformer. Let's say 1 volt each way, 2 volts total or 200/120 volts percent loss

Now let's fire up the OTHER Air conditioner, same size, same requirements.

Now we have a voltage loss in the hot leg for the first, and we have an identical loss in the hot leg for the second. NO CURRENT FLOWS IN THE NEUTRAL since it's returning via the other hot leg.. Our loss is now 200/240 percent (1/2 of what it was)

This is the reason for doing it that way.

Now the danger:

The dryer outlet has 3 wires, not 4, the missing wire is often the NEUTRAL.. People think "Well I can use the ground, after all , they connect together at the main service entrance panel" which is true as far as it goes.

But if you have say 6ga wires feeding the hots.. You may well have 12 ga for the safety ground (Smaller wire for that lead is often within code) and when you try to haul a full 50 amps on just one leg.. The fire department still makes house calls.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 12:57 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
mahon1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fowlerville, Mich.
Posts: 606
Hows bout a picture of the plug you have.
Greg
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 40PBD
2012 Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 FatBoy, three spoiled Great Danes and a cat.
mahon1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 04:52 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
thanks guys for the info and yes it is a 3 flat blade and 1 round one here is a pic of it,,, so what type of set up do I need to plug into to get the proper power at home.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0981.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	476.7 KB
ID:	12703   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0982.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	471.7 KB
ID:	12704  

__________________
mikeye74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:05 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ernieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,109
The black plug looks like a 50A RV.

A 50A 4 wire range plug is virtually identical.

Lowes has both surface and flush mount recepticles that will work.

If you need more information, someone else should probably make the connection.

Be safe out there.
__________________
ernieh
2012 Phaeton 36QSH
2007 Wrangler Toad
ernieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:06 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
not burned just old so I guess my thought that this is 240v split at the box (similar to a dryer, two 120v in one plug) is incorrect then. So is what I need
a 50amp 120v outlet??
__________________
mikeye74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:57 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Road Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seacoast of NH
Posts: 267
Mike, a 50 amp rv connection has a ground , a neutral and two 120 vac hots. If you measure from hot to hot you get 240 vac. Each leg(neutral to one hot) is good for 50 amps. Most rv's don't use the 240 vac that's available, but some do. Mine uses the 240 vac, so when I'm on a 30 amp connection I can't use my dryer.

If your dryer is one of the newer 4 wire connections it's very similar to the rv connection and an adapter will work well. If it's an older style 3 wire, you want to be very careful. Many folks have blown up their rigs by simply connecting one of these.
__________________
06 Millennium Prevost
15 HD Limited Low and 16 HD Triglide (DW)
13 Avalanche Black Diamond with Cruiser Caddie
Road Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 06:18 PM   #12
RVM 18
 
okmunky's Avatar


 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fulltimer, SD resident
Posts: 7,267
I saved this link to help me understand RV electrical issues.

RV Electric
__________________
Barb (RVM18), Sena (capuchin monkey, RVM Head Mascot) & Lily (Maltese/Yorkie)
2011 Shasta Cynara 230F, 2012 Smart Car toad FMCA #F466348
The Journey is Our Destination. Full-timing since 5/18/2011 and loving it.
okmunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 06:23 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 13
thanks you very much that site is AWSOME and has what Iam looking for
thanks again to you all
__________________
mikeye74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 04:46 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,709
Only high-end custom-built motor homes(or home-made RV's) have 240VAC inside the coach, I know of no towable with 240VAC inside. The RV Electric website explains it all very clearly. If you plug into a 3-prong dryer outlet it will let all the smoke escape from the appliances and they no longer work.
__________________

__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Towing a utility trailer with Mallard 83Eagle Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 16 07-26-2011 03:48 PM
Towing car on a trailer....anyone doing it? PapPappy Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 6 07-10-2009 03:49 PM
I need info on a Higgins trailer my father owns and wants to sell og1212 Vintage RV's 1 06-20-2007 12:51 AM
New truck and trailer Bearman New Rig Show-Off! 2 06-02-2006 03:02 PM
Monster trailer is almost ready. jab3143 Toy Haulers Discussion 14 10-11-2005 03:30 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.