Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-02-2016, 08:51 PM   #1

KZ RV Club
Help needed with sway bar question

I am in need of some advice. I am a newbie at this, so please excuse me if I dont use proper terms.

We bought our first camper and a tow vehicle this past week. The camper was used. The owner gave us all of the sway bar parts but not the ball/hitch (sorry, not sure the proper term for this item). What do you call the square shaped bar that the ball sits on? You know, the one you slide into your vehicle and lock into place with the pin? I will just call it the ball/hitch for now. I hope you all know what I am talking about.

Anyway, the seller's ball/hitch had this little triangle shaped flat piece that a 2 5/16th ball sat in the middle of with one with a smaller ball on either side of it.

He did not give is this part. I found that I need this part to make the sway bars work. I went to Farm and Fleet to buy this part and they said they did not sell that part alone. They called the local RV dealer for us and the RV dealer also said this was not sold separate.

I called the previous camper owner and he says he will sell it to us for $150. Is this worth it? Do you think if I called a different RV dealer, I might be able to get this piece? Or if I should just look at getting a whole new sway bar set up? Is getting a new sway bar set up expensive or difficult to do for newbies?