Go Back   iRV2 Forums > TRAVEL TRAILER, 5th WHEEL & TRUCK CAMPER FORUMS > Travel Trailer Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-19-2011, 06:25 PM   #1

Hot Water Heater??

While trying to get my hot water heater running this weekend I could not get it going on gas, worked fine on electric but not on gas. YES I did have propane in the tanks, heat was working fine and we cooked on the stove right after. Had my daughter push the button for the gas, igniter clicked, gas lit off then died off. We tried this about 10 times then gave up, am I missing something?? I am new to this so please excuse my basic questions. Thanks

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-19-2011, 09:14 PM   #2

You likely have a bad thermocouple. The thermocouple is the small bulb that sits in the flame. It;s sole job is to provide milivolts of electricity to the gas valve . Takes about five minutes to change it.

450Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 09:32 PM   #3